Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Columbia, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    still used the old email address (2002 SP2)

    Just noticed something weird happening on Outlook ..... I changed a persons email address a few days ago, and tonight when I went to email them and typed their name in the TO box, it automatically brought up the old email address. I went to check the contact again, and the new address is there. What do I have to do to get the email window to go get the right email address???? Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: still used the old email address (2002 SP2)

    Look in the area marked "E-Mail display as". You will need to change the address there also.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: still used the old email address (2002 SP2)

    Outlook stores names you have entered on those lines in a "nickname" file. For Outlook 2000, MS released an editor to edit the nickname file, but last time I checked, there was no editor for Outlook 2002. Depending on how similar the addresses are, your best bet is to type the full new address and let Outlook "recognize" it. The next time you start typing the name, Outlook should shop a pop up with both name, use the arrow keys to highlight the old entry and then press the Delete key to remove it from the nickname file.

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Columbia, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    36
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: still used the old email address (2002 SP2)

    Yep, that did the trick. Outlook had automatically changed the "E-Mail display as;" but was still coming up with the old address as an option. I didn't realize it was as simple as scrolling to that option and deleting it. Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •