Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    255
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Chart Wizards (A2K)

    I'm not exactly clear about the data you want to graph or how it should appear but, try the chart wizard and select line graph as your graph type. Set up the wizard as you think it should be. Then when the graph is created, you can click on the chart and go to the record source and play with the query and modify it so it reflects the data as you want it to appear.

    Hope that helps (at least a little).

  2. #2
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ocean Gate, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Chart Wizards (A2K)

    Thank you.

    I will try this.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    255
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Chart Wizards (A2K)

    If it gives you problems, let me know what happens and I'll see if I can give better advice.

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ocean Gate, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Chart Wizards (A2K)

    dashiell,

    What I have is a column of labratory results for many types of parameters. In order to input that data into a field on the original table i had to populate it as a text field. However I made queries too serperate out certain parameters and these test results were all numbers. With these numbers still formatted as text the chart wizard would not allow me to change the data format from Count.

    How I corrected this was in import those queries back into the d/b as a table and then changed the format conditions to number / double. Then ran a new set of queries from those new tables and then created my chart as you discribed earlier.

    Maybe there is a shorter way but so far this is working.

    Thanks again for the advice!

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ocean Gate, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Chart Wizards (A2K)

    (Edited by HansV to create clickable link to post - see <!help=19>Help 19<!/help>)

    I was reading some of the post's from previous dates and stumbled across this one. This reply makes reference to the text data automatically being selected as the Count function by the chart wizard.

    Re: Charts from text data in Access (Office 2000 SR-3) 25-Sep-03 06:20

    <post#=296917>post 296917</post#> re: 290640 from CameronM

    My situation is I would like to display Parameter's (as X) Date's (as Y) and Test Results (as Data) without data becoming a count function. There is more than one parameter per date with each parameter having it's own test result utilizing numbers and or text. This has resulted in total (count) number of results per date in my trial charts. Instead of a count I would like the data to be displayed in a line graph.

    Is the wizard or the line graph the wrong direction for this application?

    Thank you in advance for any help with this question.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    255
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Chart Wizards (A2K)

    I created a similar problem for myself and solved it by creating a separate query off the results. I took the test results (formatted as text) and in the query, I added zero to all the results ( [TestResult]+0 ). I then built my chart off this query. The wizard still defaulted it to Count but I changed that in the Recrod Source and it worked fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •