Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    How to set default value in combo box (Access 2002)

    Hello again everyone! I need to set the default value of a combo box which is in a form to None. The combo box is linked to a table and one of the values in the table is None. However when i try to enter in None into the default value box under form desgin (combo box data properties) it does not default to none.

    Thanks again.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: How to set default value in combo box (Access 2002)

    If you enter None in the default value property, does Access change it to "None" (including the quotes)?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to set default value in combo box (Access 2002)

    yes it does, however in the form itself it does not display it.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: How to set default value in combo box (Access 2002)

    Just to make sure: you must save and close the form, then open it. Just switching from design view to form view is not enough to get the default value.

    More questions:
    - Is the form bound? I.e. is the Record Source property of the form non-empty?
    - If so, is the combo box bound? I.e., is the Control Source of the combo box set to the name of a field in the Record Source of the form?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to set default value in combo box (Access 2002)

    I am not sure if the form is bound.

    The combo box is bound....

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to set default value in combo box (Access 2002)

    I did try saving closing the form and opening again, no luck. The combo box's are bound to fields type-type10 inside there are many values one of which is None which has a price of 0.00, every other one is a window blind size ie 102 x 66 and a price $.00 the price field is what i stored into the database for future use, could this be the problem?

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: How to set default value in combo box (Access 2002)

    If the price field is the bound field, you should set the default value to a price; the combo box will automatically display the corresponding item.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: How to set default value in combo box (Access 2002)

    Hans, you have absolutely no idea you've helped me! THANK YOU SO MUCH! I have been working on this problem since noon. Its now 4:15, I am disgusted that it was such a simple problem. Thank you so much!

    Thank you!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •