Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen (Home)

    First, I should note that I am using my college's network to connect to the Internet, which means I am connecting to a domain.

    Second, I am the only one who uses this computer, and I am the computer administrator, as specified in User Accounts under the Control Panel.

    Now, every time Windows loads it prompts me for a user name and password. The user name is already filled-in as "Jonathan Rick" and I leave the password field blank. I click OK, and Windows loads.

    But having to click OK is annoying. Instead, I'd like to bypass this log-in screen and have Windows automatically log me in. A Google search turned up confusing results; does anyone know how to do this? Thanks so much!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by bigaldoc on 11-Oct-03 08:19. )</P>Try downloading and installing TweakUI XP 2.10 See Attachment. As I was typing this, I just realized that I don't remember if autologon works under XP Home, but it's worth a shot.

    Edited to add: I'm surprised that your network's domain administrator allows users without a password, but take your word for it.....

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen

    Yes--that worked! Thanks a lot, Al!

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen

    Tweak UI and other Tweakers are fun and worth having. By the by, In Woody's recommendation in the new book to use TweakUI as Al showed you, Woody has a caveat that this is a low security manuever--and references Brian's Buzz "XP Passwords Rendered Useless" as what Woody calls an eyeopener and caveat.

    There are other ways to do this as well:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicrosoftWindows NTCurrentVersionWinlogon

    Change or add the following value:
    Data Type: REG_SZ
    Value Name: DefaultUserName
    Value: The username with which you want to logon

    Change or add the following value:
    Data Type: REG_SZ
    Value Name: DefaultPassword

    Change or add the following value:
    Data Type: REG_SZ
    Value Name: AutoAdminLogon
    Value: 1


    Change or add the following value:
    Data Type: REG_SZ
    Value Name: DefaultDomainName
    Value: The domain you wish to log on to

    Value: The password with which you want to logon

    Note: The name is viewable in plain text and could be viewed by anyone who had access to your registry if you extended them Remote Assistance or let them use your computer with acess to your registry. Otherwise not.

    Also frequently suggested to get this done is to:

    Select Run from the Start Menu, type control userpasswords2, and click Ok.
    Turn off the Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer option, and click Ok.
    __________________________________________________ ____________________________

    If these didn't work, you could always delete every account except the adm account or even deactivate the adm account and reactivate it without choosing to have a logon. You can just enable autologon so you logon automatically and ck. the box next to "logon automatically at system startup making sure your user name, domain, and password are correct.

    SMBP

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen (Home)

    I assume you also have a single room and trust everyone who has a key. Otherwise, anyone with physical access to your computer is "you" and when April

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen (Home)

    Yes--

    I tried to make that warning, and I think that's what Woody was doing by linking that site in his book. Somehow I get the feeling that you are going to have a hard time hacking any computers of Jefferson's or any he may have influence on protecting. This is a good point to emphasize. You pay a security price for this convenience and speeding your trip to the desktop, and the password scheme and screen issue in Windows I find interesting and for me often as confusing as it is interesting.

    SMBP

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen (Home)

    Point well-taken. BTW, cute dog!

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen

    Useful; thanks.

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, Alabama, USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen

    Yesterday, I downloaded tweakUI and set a switch to fix the problem, rebooted, and it worked fine. However, I noticed there was something else I tried. I rebooted, got the welcome screen but no list of users.. i Called my tech and He got is up but he put in a new profile which I'm in now. I see the profile in explorar but I have no way that I know of to get back in to it. I have the Home Edition. Is there a solution. Both profiles have adminitive privieges Can I get to the other profile/

    Also, why can't I highlight word(s) with shift-arrow keys like in previous editions?

  10. #10
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen

    Right-click on the folders, select Properties and then Security. As Administrator, you can alter the Permissions, but you may not as yet have the Permissions to access the fiolders.
    Gre

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen

    Did you clear the check mark in a TweakUi screen that hide you accounts?
    If so go back to that same screen and add the check mark back.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Vestavia Hills, Alabama, USA
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen

    That didn't Work.

  13. #13
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Enable automatic log-in; bypass log-in screen

    With Administrative permissions, you ahould be able to add your new Profile to the list of Users with Permissions to the folders. Which step didn't work?
    Gre

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •