Thread: Two tables (97)

Star Lounger
    Thanks

Two tables (97)

Hi,
    I have two tables called Alpha and Beta.

Alpha contains the fields Team, Names, and 11/01/03 all the way to 15/01/03, in the dates fields you can have one of 3 different letters E=Early L=late and AL=Leave, these correspond to what an individual person is doing on that particular date.

Beta Contains the fields Team,11/01/03 all the way to 15/01/03, in the dates fields you have different SECTORS where a person is working on that particular date eg Shop, Planning, Costing etc...

What id like to do is create a table which i can print out which has the following info

Fields that contain the sector name eg Shop cost etc... and under each sector column you have who is working in that sector. and another field called team stating what team the individual is in.

Id be very greatful if anybody could help me out with this one as im a rookie when it comes to access.
    Cheers,
    Rob.

Gold Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Two tables (97)

Hungry,

You really need to revisit your database design. You should not have those separate date fields in your tables. You should be using a child table that allows you to enter 1 row per date. For example, an Alpha_Dates table would have these 3 fields:
    Team, ActionDate, Action. You would create a one-to-many relationship between Alpha and Alpha_Dates based on the Team field in each.
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

In the first place, I would organize the data in the tables differently, if possible. I wouldn't have separate columns (fields) for the dates, but one column for the date and one for the activity (or sector or ...), and a separate record for each day for each person. For example, the table Alpha could look like this: