Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Adding Wireless to network

    I have a 5 computer cat 5 wired network that is working just fine. I want to add a wireless hub or switch to the existing network. All I have been able to find are entry point devices which will set up a NEW network with wireless nods.

    Has any one seen any thing that I can do this with?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding Wireless to network

    <hr>network that is working just fine<hr>

    Need I say more then the quote. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding Wireless to network

    Sure have Dave.... I've got a Linksys WAP11 which plugs into my router. The WAP11 is the 802.11b standard.

    Linksys also has the WAP54G which is the 802.11g standard (compatible with the [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img]. We've got a few of these at work, which are just the WAP11's ... on the new standard.

    The Linksys products page has a few items for wireless connections... most being the Access Point PLUS hub / switch.. but these two are the ones I have experience with.
    Christopher Baldrey

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Adding Wireless to network

    Thanks, Chris, that is waht I am looking for. I looked at Linksys but did NOT see this one.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding Wireless to network

    Took me FOREVER to find it myself. When I started looking for these things last year at this time, I sent an email to Linksys. I was half expecting them to say "Sorry... you're out of luck, you'll need to get the WHOLE THING"... but I got a nice little message stating the WAP11 was all I needed.

    I don't know what availability is like for you, but I couldn't find a retailer in my area stocking, or willing to order the device for me. I ended up going to ebay and getting one there.
    Christopher Baldrey

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Adding Wireless to network

    I found at http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/featu...5597428-5298405 had them, and ordered one, will be here in about 10 days. And the price was not bad, $99.74 US plus tax and free shipping.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Adding Wireless to network

    Hope Dave has his answer and won't mind me changine directions. How 'bout a tad of advice, Chris? I'm trying to help someone who has ONE computer in the home, using cable internet. but no internal LAN. For long-story reasons, they're having to "move" the computer to the opposite corner of the large living room, away from the only cable connectivity. The house is on a slab, so we can't reroute the coax under the house plus the room has a vaulted ceiling, so no way to route the coax overhead. I think it's time for wireless. Do you agree? Since I'm a Linksys bigot, what product would you suggest and does one have to separately purchase the wireless-NIC or can you buy a WAP that includes one NIC? I've never done anything with wireless except mouse and keyboard <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>.......

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adding Wireless to network

    Hi Al...

    I'm not an expert on this, but I think this kit from Linksys will do the trick, but only for a PCMCIA (PC Card) equiped computer. This kit is of the 802.11b standard (11 Mbps).

    I haven't tried it, so I don't know if going with a WAP (Wireless Access Point) and NIC alone will do what you're looking for. The WAP might not be *smart* enough.

    By the way, the kit above can be adapted to a PCI slot with a WDT11. This is a PCI card which you would then slip the PCMCIA WPC11 NIC (included in the kit) into.

    A WMP11 is the standard 802.11b PCI Wireless NIC.

    Of course, you can look at the Products page to see all the good stuff like USB Wireless adapters.

    I hope all this helps!
    Christopher Baldrey

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Adding Wireless to network

    Received the WAG54 and it is up and running. I am upstairs posting from the front room watching TV. It is working just fine with my 802.11b PCMI card in my laptop. The wife has a 802.11g PCMI card in her laptop and it is being blocked and other computers are blocked from seeing it. No internet access from it also. But if I connect by cat 5 cable all works just fine.

    Any ideas?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Adding Wireless to network

    Dave,

    Are you absolutely sure that both devices really are 802.11g
    There are lots of products out there that shipped before the standard was ratified and need upgrades to bring them into compliance.

    I have a Belkin hub that was built to their proprietary 54g standard. When I upgraded the firmware to 802.11g all the devices refused to talk to it until they had been upgraded too.

    StuartR

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Adding Wireless to network

    That might be the case with the PCMI card, we have never been able to get on any "WiFi" network with it. I will try a different card once I get one.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •