Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Belle Harbor, New York, USA
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    problem with PCMCIA slot

    I have a Dell Inspiron 3700. All of a sudden, any card I put in the slot does not work (wireless card or modem). Any thoughts or suggestions? Thank you very much.
    Alan Silberlight

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: problem with PCMCIA slot

    Sounds like you have a corrupt PCMCI driver(s). Re-installing them may correct the problem.
    A good read is this one on installation of same.

    PCMCI

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Belle Harbor, New York, USA
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: problem with PCMCIA slot

    Thank you for responding so quickly! I do appreciate it. Did you mean to install the drivers that came with the two cards or re-installing drivers that came with the computer? I did re-install the driver that came with the wireless card.
    The wireless notebook adapter card has small lights on it. My wife noticed that the lights flickered and then went out. Does this indicate anything? That was the beginning of the problem.
    The computer has 2 slots. It seems that only the top slot has been good. In any case, I need just one slot. I can always replace the wireless card with the modem card when I need to.
    Thank you again.
    Alan Silberlight

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: problem with PCMCIA slot

    Some computers come with preinstalled drivers, some do not.
    Click on the link in my first post to read up on this. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Belle Harbor, New York, USA
    Posts
    256
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: problem with PCMCIA slot

    Thank you again...I did read the article...don't quite understand....even though the modem and wireless card come with drivers, am I to re-install something that came along with the computer's installation CDs?
    Alan

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: problem with PCMCIA slot

    Alan,

    ------------------------------------------
    Most computers that have an internal PCMCIA card slot come with this software already installed. Most PCMCIA cards also come with PCMCIA card and service software, so be careful; DO NOT install the card and service software if your computer already has it installed.
    -----------------------------------------

    It sounds like your computer has built in PCMCI. I would go to Device Manager and uninstall/remove any reference to the PCMCI that's there now. ReBoot and let your system go for it's own drivers first. Boot again and look for the references to any devices in the boot screen as mentioned in the second part of the first paragraph of that link I gave you. If you see these references then the system has installed it's own drivers first as it should do. ( it may ask for your OS CD to get these files)
    Once you get the on board drivers installed then you can reinstall the drivers parculiar to the add on PCMCI card itself ( if necessary).
    Give that a shot.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •