Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Action Cancelled (exp 6.0)

    I have been getting this " Action Cancelled" on many sites.
    Especially on Classmates. com., and Expedia sites to where it doen not show the picture of the hotel or other interesting photos.
    The only thing I get on Expedia, is boxes with an " x" , and no photo.
    Can anybody help this " not so computer literate type of person"?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Action Cancelled (exp 6.0)

    My guess is that you are running an "ad blocker" or another privacy protection product. Because each product is different, I wonder whether you remember installing one, or if you know if your ISP gives you one?

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Action Cancelled (exp 6.0)

    So what do I do?
    How do I get rid of this?
    What's next?
    I am so not not use to this kind of stuff.
    Help!!!!!!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Action Cancelled (exp 6.0)

    Maybe you can provide more information, like, who is your ISP? Can you list some sample pages (addresses) that work correctly and some that don't work correctly? This should help focus us on what could be happening.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Action Cancelled (exp 6.0)

    I have Comcast as my ISP. I cannot get on Classmates.com, and when I get on Expedia.com, it does not show pictures just little boxes with an x in the box where a picture would be. When I bring up AOL.com some areas within the page it displays Action Cancelled, where you know it would be an advertisement

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Action Cancelled (exp 6.0)

    As Jefferson mentioned, a little more infromation is needed from you.

    Did this just start happening?
    Did you add some other program or utility recently?
    Do you have a firewall running?
    Something with a popup stopper in it?
    What are your security settings at? High, medium or low?

    Please try to give us a more complete survey of what kind of system you have installed. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Action Cancelled (exp 6.0)

    I want to echo all the above -- and especially mention a Hosts file problem. Did you install ANY security programs on your computer?? It sounds as if one of them is doing a little more than you had hoped for...

    Search your hard drive for a file named simply "Hosts" (no extension). If you find it, rename it "Hosts.txt". Close IE and try to view those sites again.

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Action Cancelled (exp 6.0)

    First of all, I thank "all " of you for trying to help me get out of this mess..
    I am not computer savey.
    A friend of mine built my computer and I don't know what I have. I don't know how to go into programs to find out what I have.
    1. How do I know if I have an ad blocker?
    Hell I don't know.
    But I do know I use to see the "net defense firewall", but I don't see it any more, but it's probably still in my computer.
    2.My ISP is Comcast.
    3. I use to be able to get on these sites, like Classmates and Expedia( with pictures) , and I don't recall when this problem happened.
    4. I do not remember if I changed something in my system.
    5. A pop-up happens just once in a while, an ad for stopping pop-ups.
    6. My security settings are the same as my girlfriends work, and I can get on these sites with no problem.
    7. My security settings are at medium.
    8. I don't know to find out, or to get on my hard drive to see where my "host" is set at.
    9. Boy I am a problem.
    Thank you in advance.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Action Cancelled (exp 6.0)

    With regard to the "hosts" file.
    1. Click a blank spot on the taskbar (the one with the Start button on it).
    2. Press F3. A dialog box opens.
    3. Make sure the Look in box says (C
    4. In the Named box, box type "hosts" without the quotes.
    5. Press Find Now & wait for the results.
    6. If you see a result that says "hosts" (not hosts.sam or anything else), click the mouse on it.
    7. Press F2.
    8. Now you can type in a name change, like "hosts.old" (no quotes).

    With regard to whether you are running a pop-up stopper:
    1. Press Ctrl+Alt+Del (all 3 keys at the same time) once.
    2. Write down or take a picture of everything that is running & post it here. We might be able to see if you're running an add blocker.
    Hope this helps,

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Action Cancelled (exp 6.0)

    Danny--

    1) When did this start?
    2) What operating system are you using?
    3) Does it have System Restore
    4) If you hit the Windows key + r and put in that box "eventvwr.msc" without the quotes and hit enter, are you able to see any error messages in two of the categories besides security?
    5) Has this activity been showing you any error messages you can quote or paste?

    If you have System Restore, and know anywhere close to when this began, you might be able to make it all go away with System Restore.

    SMBP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •