Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Insert Autotext Not Available in Header/Footer (XP/SP2)

    On trying to enter the document name & path in a footer my husband has noticed that the whole "Insert Autotext" button is greyed out on the Header/Footer toolbar. Any ideas as to cause or better still cure?
    Regards

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Insert Autotext Not Available in Header/Footer (XP/SP2)

    Does this happen in every document? This problem isn't mentioned anywhere as far as I can see.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Insert Autotext Not Available in Header/Footer (XP/SP2)

    Yes, Hans it does. I have had him send the doc in question to me (with Word 200 SP3) and I have no such problems. I have got him to look at View Header Footer in other totally unrelated docs and it is greyed out in all of them. I tried looking on the Microsoft KB and came up with nothing that seemed remotely relevant. I am totally stumped.
    Regards

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Insert Autotext Not Available in Header/Footer (XP/SP2)

    I have no idea either. You might walk him through Phil Rabichow's <!post=Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word (97/2000),197827>Systematic Approach to Behavioral Problems in Word (97/2000)<!/post>.

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Insert Autotext Not Available in Header/Footer

    You might try renaming normal.dot (with Word closed) & letting Word rebuid it. Perhaps there are no autotext entries or they became corrupted.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Insert Autotext Not Available in Header/Footer (XP/SP2)

    Thanks Hans I will try to set aside some time at the weekend to take him through it - not using XP myself I had hoped that there might be some new setting that I wasn't aware of - just like the "hide white space at top of page setting" that took me weeks to figure out!

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Insert Autotext Not Available in Header/Footer

    Phil - Messing with his Normal dot could cause severe marital discord! I am going to try to take him through your systemic approach if I can store up enough patience reserves this weekend. Thanks

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Rosamond, California, USA
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Insert Autotext Not Available in Header/Footer

    AutoText entries are style-sensitive. Click in the footer area and check the style listed in the formatting toolbar. If the style is other than Footer, that may be the problem. Type Footer in the style box, then press Enter to see if the entries appear. If not, there may be corruption in the normal.dot. If you have to rename the normal.dot, use the Organizer to move any macros, AutoText, customizations, etc. to the new normal.dot.

    Cheryl

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    London, Gtr London, England
    Posts
    101
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Insert Autotext Not Available in Header/Footer

    I managed to get a while on my own with the machine and when I checked there were no autotext entries at all in normal dot - the only template my husband uses! I simply deleted and forced a new instance of normal dot and then added one or two tweaks so he won't notice anything other than the fact that he will be able to insert the file name in his footers!
    Thanks to you all

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •