Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: MDE Error (A2K)

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    MDE Error (A2K)

    Some of the MDE databases I created in Access 2000 work while others do not. I get the error message " ...produced the following error:Requested type library or wizard is not a VBA project" when I click on any control. The MS Knowledgebase mentions this error only if the user drags a component of a MDE to the desktop. The article does not mention a fix or work around. The MDEs all work on the PC (WIN 2000) that created them but not on other PCs. I typically maintain the databases on a WIN XP PC with Access 2002.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: MDE Error (A2K)

    Apart from ACC2000: Error When You Drag a Module in an MDE or ADE File to the Desktop, the error is also mentioned in ACC2000: An MDE File That References Another MDE File Cannot Run Code After Both Are Moved to Another Folder; this error was supposed to be corrected in Office 2000 SR-1/SR-1A.

    In any case, it sounds like a references problem. If you open the .mdb used to create the .mde, preferably in Access 2000, which references are checked in Tools | References?

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: MDE Error (A2K)

    Are you creating the MDE with Access2002? I was under the impression that an MDE created by A2002 could not be used by an A2000 machine (although the reverse will work)?
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: MDE Error (A2K)

    That's correct, you can open an A2K format MDE in Access 2002, but an MDE created in ACC 2002 cannot be opened by earlier versions of Access. By same token, if you working with an A2K format .MDB in ACC 2002, you cannot convert the MDB to an MDE; you'd have to convert the .MDB to ACC 2002 format first. An explanation for this is provided in ACC2002: "Make MDE File" or "Make ADE File" Command Is Not Available:

    "When creating an MDE or ADE file, Microsoft Access stores a copy of the current object model as a part of the compiled Visual Basic for Applications project. Because the Access 2002 object library contains new objects, methods, properties and events not recognized by earlier versions of Microsoft Access, Access 2002 will not be able to make an MDE or ADE file. Therefore, the option to make an MDE file or an ADE file in Access 2002 is disabled when the MDB or ADP is not in the Access 2002 file format. "

    In reference to original question, it's not clear if the problem MDE's were created in A2K or ACC 2002, so don't know if this is relevant to the error.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: MDE Error (A2K)

    I don't want to take this thread on too great a tangent, but it appears that Access 2003 has some problems working with 2000/2002 MDE files. We are still researching what is going on, so I will update this as we find out more.
    Wendell

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: MDE Error (A2K)

    >>if you working with an A2K format .MDB in ACC 2002, you cannot convert the MDB to an MDE; <<

    I didn't realize that. Thanks!
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    122
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: MDE Error (A2K)

    Thank everyone for the comments. The databases I am working with were originally created in Access 2000 and I left them in that format since the users all have Access 2000. The system I use to change the databases has Access 2002 but I have been careful to not change the database format. The system I am using to create the MDE files is WIN 2000 with MS Office 2000 and has all known (up to earlier this week )MS Office patches (including SR-1A) applied.

    The problem was a reference issue. The databases that did not work when converted to MDE all had reference to "Utility" When I removed that reference and reconverted them to MDE they worked ok.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: MDE Error (A2K)

    MS Office 2000 is up to SR-3 now. I would recommend you update your installations.
    Charlotte

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •