Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Drive Image: mydos.sys?

    Hi All:
    Short Question:
    Can anyone with Drive Image (I have version 6, but I assume later versions are similar) check for a file called mydos.sys & tell me if it's anything other than a blank, zero byte file?

    Longer Explanation:
    I'm guessing (couldn't find any documentation) that DI uses this to create an msdos.sys file. However, at one point I had a blank msdos.sys file & couldn't reboot until I manually modified it. And running NAV, it always says the file (mydos.sys) isn't valid & can't innoculate it. I am wondering whether I should manually modify these files. I haven't had to run a restore in a very long time, so I don't know what would happen if I left the files as is, or modified them. On my machine, they are located at:

    C:Program FilesPartitionMagic 7.0RESCUEMEDOSYSTEMMYDOS.SYS
    C:Program FilesDrive Image 6.0RESCUEMEOS2DOSMYDOS.SYS

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image: mydos.sys?

    Phil,

    I'm using PM 7.0 & DI 2002, and I did a search for mydos.sys and came up with zero. No mention of that file anywhere including of course those two folders that you speak of. Unless it's a TEMP file that's used when the prog is running?

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drive Image: mydos.sys?

    Hi Bob:
    When you say zero, you mean the files don't exist or they are zero bytes? Did you make a rescue disk with either PM or DI? It has ocurred to me from the folder name, that perhaps it's created when you make a rescue disk. If so, maybe I created the rescue disk when my msdos.sys file was incorrect. I'm going to redo my rescue disks & see if this changes things.
    Thanks for responding,

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image: mydos.sys?

    Phil,
    <img src=/S/sorry.gif border=0 alt=sorry width=15 height=15>
    I meant the files don't exist at all, on my box.

    I did create a rescue disk when I first installed it, so don't see where that made a difference. ( DI )

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drive Image: mydos.sys?

    Thanks, Bob. I just created a new Rescue disk. I noticed that the msdos.sys on the first floppy is 0 bytes & is blank. Could you check your Rescue disk & see if yours is also blank? Maybe it's being copied from my mydos.sys. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image: mydos.sys?

    I checked both DI & PM rescueboot disks ( I forgot I also made one for PM ). There was NO mydos.sys file on either of them.
    The PM disk DID have a copy of msdos.sys which was zero bytes, because my msdos.sys file in Windows is also Zero.

    No clue as to the where-abouts of any mydos.sys file?????

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Drive Image: mydos.sys?

    As far as I know, the MSDOS.SYS file should be at least 1,024 bytes in size for Windows 9x. See Contents of the Windows Msdos.sys File.

    On my Windows XP system, there is an MSDOS.SYS file in the root of C: and it is 0 bytes. Perhaps Drive Image makes incorrect assumptions about your OS? Or you have a version that is not intended for Windows 9x?

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Drive Image: mydos.sys?

    Thanks to both of you. I'm using Win 98 SE. The version I have is for Win 9x. I had a problem some time back about not being able to reboot after I did a scanreg /restore. I found out that it was because msdos.sys was blank, so I manually changed it. My first rescue disk was made prior to that. I'm surprised that DI doesn't create a proper one for my system. Since I have a paid version, I'll try & contact support...but I think they only support their lastest version.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •