Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    North Carolina USA in winter, Maine in summer
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    HELP- HDD problem w/ new computer (XP Home SP1 (build 2600))

    I have recently purchased a Dell 8300 2.6GHz box and presumed (apparently in error!) that I could use the HDD (IBM 40GB IC35L040AVER07-0) from my older Dell 4300 1.6GHz box in the new machine. When I install the old HDD in the new box it will not boot and gives me an error message saying that the OS is missing/not found. Cable select jumpers were used on both drives, old and new so that should not have been a problem. In both cases the IDE connector at the end of the cable was used. The reason that I want to use the old drive, at least for the time being, is that all of my apps, configurations and customizations are on it and I really don't want to have to "reinvent the wheel". I am totally frustrated and cannot imagine why I am having this problem but there is probably some very simple explanation that I have overlooked. If anyone out there can help me out of this mess, I would certainly be MOST appreciative!

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: HELP- HDD problem w/ new computer (XP Home SP1 (build 2600))

    Jerry,

    Your old HD can probably be used, but not directly. Unless your new box is exactly the same ( it isn't ) you can't just move a HD in since there are OS settings that apply to you OLD machine and not the new.

    I'm afraid you are faced with a reinstall of XP to get the IBM drive working. However, you are now looking at whether Dell gave you a FULL copy of XP with the new machine or just their own version. Another GOOD reason for insisting on getting a Full MS version of your OS. If you have a copy of XP from your old machine, you can do a clean install, but you will lose your apps.
    If there is room, you could install the old drive as a slave and at least retain your apps data but they will have to be "reinstalled" for the system to recognize them. You could then delete the operating system files from your old drive and use the room saved for other apps.

    One way or the other, it's not just an easy swap out of HD's. <img src=/S/disappointed.gif border=0 alt=disappointed width=15 height=15>
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: HELP- HDD problem w/ new computer (XP Home SP1 (build 2600))

    FYI, Dell pre-installs a complete version of Windows XP on its PC's, and you get a Windows XP CD-ROM too.

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: HELP- HDD problem w/ new computer (XP Home SP1 (build 2600))

    Hans,

    Good info.

    I thought at one time anyway, that Dell only supplied a repair CD, and their own pre packaged software, not a full XP version?

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HELP- HDD problem w/ new computer (XP Home SP1 (build 2600))

    That's good news--because when I last got a Dell they were giving you the OS with a couple additions on their disk, but it's been a while, and I suppose not modifications of the actual OS on a Dell disk, but I'd always feel better getting a Win XP disk.

    As you know a lot of these recovery disks that come with some OEM notebooks and laptops don't have the Recovery Console, and make you navigate through cab files or folders to find some files. I have always thought but not been sure that the OEM's sign an agreement not to modify the actual code of the OS, but they do put programs on the hard drive at times--Dell used to have one that allowed them to view your computer if you gave permission that they discontinued whose name escapes me at the moment. This wasn't an addition to the OS, but placed on the hard drive and took a considerable amount of space.

    SMBP

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HELP- HDD problem w/ new computer (XP Home SP1 (build 2600))

    Jerry-

    Just to add to the good advice from Bob take a look at this KB and some of these threads, and first off check that the BIOS even lists and recognizes the hard drive:

    321626: "Operating System Not Found" Error Message When You Start the Computer

    "Operating System Not Found" Error--The Driver Forum

    SMBP

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: HELP- HDD problem w/ new computer (XP Home SP1 (build 2600))

    I bought a Dell early this year and got a CD with Windows XP, and separate CD's with diagnostics, drivers etc.

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    North Carolina USA in winter, Maine in summer
    Posts
    177
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HELP- HDD problem w/ new computer (XP Home SP1 (build 2600))

    Many thanks to all who replied to my post. Now, before I leap off into the really deep doo-doo, can anyone tell me what the downside, if any, would be if I were to reinstall Windows XP on the IBM drive from the CD which came with the new machine??? If I do this with the HD in place on the old computer, would that them render the drive unusable on the old box? The OS on the old machine has never been modified to my knowledge (other than the gazillion patches and updates from MS, which I routinely install, whether I think I need them or not- LOL) I would really like to be able to use all the contents on the old drive which I have so painstakingly put together over the last couple years.

  9. #9
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: HELP- HDD problem w/ new computer (XP Home SP1 (build 2600))

    Jerry,

    As long as you make the IBM drive the new C: boot drive, (master & the old drive the slave ) you can install XP on the new C by booting to the XPCD. With the OS now in the "new" c: you can now dump the old OS files from the slave. Windows can only boot from the C: harddrive, so the old installation will not interfere with booting. When you clean off the old OS, you will still have your old apps data there, but will have to go through the routine of reinstalling the apps, so that the new OS on the IBM drive will recognize where they are. A bit of a hassle sure, but at least you will retain most of your configurations, etc

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HELP- HDD problem w/ new computer (XP Home SP1 (build 2600))

    <hr>gives me an error message saying that the OS is missing/not found<hr>
    I'd lose that cable select and set your jumpers manually. Make the old drive a slave on the secondary IDE channel.

    This isn't a Windows problem; it's hardware configuration. Your new computer can't even find Windows yet. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> You need to get your IDE configuration properly set up and XP may allow you to get away with a repair installation. As I recall Dell sends out a full copy of the OS. Boot with the CD and allow the repair to proceed with all the default options.
    -Mark

  11. #11
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: HELP- HDD problem w/ new computer (XP Home SP1 (build 2600))

    Well let me say this. I build computers, and setting behind me on my work table is a Motherboard and power supply {not in a case} that I use to test Hardware with, including Old, and New Hard Drives. I have pluged in a many of old Hard Drives with existing OS's installed and booted right up to Windows. The trick is, 1st off make sure you have the jumpers set correctly { in my case it is always set to Primary Master} and then you will sometimes need the System CD for the Motherboard to load some Drivers { not always, but sometimes} for things such as onboard sound and Video and ETC. When you plug a different Hard Drive into that Motherboard the Operating System will, most the time, find the drivers needed for the stuff it is seeing on the Motherboard, if not, it will need the System CD. But you can use that Hard Drive to boot up, and I have yet to find one I couldn't boot up to unless the Hard Drive was bad. Also you need to make sure the BIOS is seeing the correct Hard Drive.
    I can take the Hard Drive out of this computer right now and turn around and hook it up to the Motherboard behind me and boot right up into Windows with no problems, and I don't care if it came out of a Dell or not.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •