Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    lucent win modem freeze

    On a bad line, where the connection is 28,800, my modem works fine. On a clear line, however, it "freezes" at least once a day. By "freeze", I mean it is connected, but does not send or receive. With the sound on, I can tell when it is going to freeze, because it makes the sound of creaky door or a ratchet clicking. After it freezes, I have to reconnect and, sometimes, have to reboot. What is puzzling is that , the better the line, the more problems I have. The lines are all dedicated, so there is no call waiting, etc.

    I would appreciate any suggestions.

  2. #2
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: lucent win modem freeze

    I don't know if this will help, but you might read it. It is a fix for the Lucent Win Modem. The download will be at the bottom on that page. Here

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: lucent win modem freeze

    It sounds like the modem is trying to connect at the faster V90 protocol, reattemping, then finally falling back to the older and slower V34, which is the 28k mode. WinModems also use a chunk of your system memory instead of relying on their own memory.
    How much memory do you have installed on your machine? More is better !

    Cowboys' suggested patch MAY help. Sure worth a try. <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: lucent win modem freeze

    Thanks. I tried to install it, but there was a failure having to do with the modem.cpl file. I should add that I have a Dell Inspiron computer, if that makes a difference.

  5. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: lucent win modem freeze

    Try renaming the WinModem CPL file and then reinstall the patch. CPL stands for Control Panel.

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: lucent win modem freeze

    Thanks. I tried that, but got the same message--that it cannot load the installer to modem.cpl. For what it's worth, I downloaded the "latest" drive from the Dell site, but it didn't help. I guess I may have to live with it until I replace my computer within the next 6 months. I never thought I would look forward to a poor dial up connection. I think maybe there is a problem with something else on the computer. I have had same computer and set up for over 3 years, but the problem only started about 3 months ago.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •