Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't change a form if database is in use

    Access 97 would let me make design changes to a database while it was in use. Now we've converted to Access 2000 (and WIN2K) if I try to do this I get a message telling me I don't have exclusive permission and I may not be able to save my changes. Sure enough, I can't. Is this a new "feature"?
    Oh and please don't get on my back about bad practice etc. I know it is but we're talking minor tweaks like adding an item to a combo box list (for example).

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't change a form if database is in use

    Sorry to disappoint you, but you can't do that in Access 2000, period end of story. Access 2000 does not permit design changes (and that includes your combobox example) unless the database is opened exclusive.

    There are good reasons for it, so your only option is to change your modus operandi.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't change a form if database is in use

    Somehow I just knew that was going to be the answer. Thanks Charlotte

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't change a form if database is in use

    I've had intermittent problems with database corruption in Access 97 almost from day 1. After much grief and serious swearing at my computer I came to the realization that even minor changes to forms and reports while others are using the database (even if the others don't even look at those forms or reports) is a major gamble. I'm assuming that that restriction was put in Access 2000 specifically to prevent that problem.

  5. #5
    DaveShmave
    Guest

    Re: Can't change a form if database is in use

    Hi Charlotte,

    I'm in the middle of converting databases from 97 to 2K and was wondering if this design change situation applied to just the back-end on a server or just the shared front-end on a server?

    Does this also apply to the front-end even if a copy is on every workstation and NOT shared on a server?

    Thanks,

    Dave <img src=/S/smash.gif border=0 alt=smash width=30 height=26>

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't change a form if database is in use

    It applies to any shared database. Local front-ends are not shared, but if you are trying to make design changes to the back end, you won't be able to do it if any of the front-ends is open.
    Charlotte

  7. #7
    DaveShmave
    Guest

    Re: Can't change a form if database is in use

    Thanks for the clarification. And you're right, for good (and obvious) reason(s) this change was made.

    Dave

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Gillingham, Kent, England
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't change a form if database is in use

    Hi Jon,
    I'm not sure if this will help but by using a .MDE front end, the original .MDB front end is always free for editing. Therefore changes can be made and the new .MDE can be copied over the old without problem. This obviously doesn't apply if, for some reason a .MDE cannot be used.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Can't change a form if database is in use

    Actually, you still can't update the mde if it's in use. You can only copy over it if it is not open.
    Charlotte

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Gillingham, Kent, England
    Posts
    511
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't change a form if database is in use

    The advantage being - if you have an office full of data inputers, instead of getting them all to close their database at the same time, the .MDE can be e-mailed to them and they can close their databases whenever they get the chance.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •