Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    double subforms (Access 2000 SP-3)

    I have 3 subforms all having link Child/Master Fields set to ClientID. The first two work fine but when adding the third one, after either closing and re-opening or compiling the form, the 3rd subform changes its Source Object property to the underlying form that the 1st subform is based on. If I go in and change it back in design view, it opens fine. But when reopening, I get two subforms with the same data display again. Any clue why this could be happening?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: double subforms (Access 2000 SP-3)

    I don't understand what the sourceobject has to do with "the underlying form that the 1st subform is based on" and "when adding the third one". What are you talking about? Is the subform you're having problems with nested in one of the other subforms or is it at the same level? Are you trying to add a subform in code or are you changing a single unbound subform to different sourceobjects?
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: double subforms (Access 2000 SP-3)

    To tell you the truth Charlotte, I don't either. That is why I wrote. I first made the subforms separately and then placed them on the same level of one main parent form. The subforms are not nested. They simply show different details about clients
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: double subforms (Access 2000 SP-3)

    I don't see how tblNeeds could be a one-to-one with tblClients unless the client only has a single need. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20>
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: double subforms (Access 2000 SP-3)

    Charlotte,
    Actually, what I sent you is only one small corner of a huge database containing 55 tables in all. We are a grant driven non-profit and must report all kinds of information to various funding sources. Client needs is only a one of many categories of information we need to maintain about clients. There are so many of these categories that it is not practical to put all the tidbits of information into the Clients table, so I made Needs one-to-one.

    tblNeeds is just the name of the table. Each client only has one needs record that staff can access and update in the course of their tenure. Connected to it are 'action items' in a subform based on the tblClientNeedsMet table which have multiple records. This is what you no doubt think of as individual 'needs'. Once we identify various needs, we make 'Recommedations' of how to meet the need, along with a deadline 'ByDate'. So each one record in the tblNeeds table has many records in the tblClientNeedsMet table.

    We also have a subform with multiple records for each client based on the tblClientDocumentation table. This traces the documents we require clients submit to us before providing various services. These are also updatable from the same form at any time.

    Originally three sets of test, date of test and test score controls appeared at the bottom of the main form. All was well with the main Needs form and 2 subforms until it was decided by my director that instead of a set number of tests with dates and resulting scores, she wanted to be able to add new tests on the fly whenever necessary. I decided to add a third subform with the test (Assessment) combo box set to open a pop-up form for adding new test entries whenever the NotInList event fires. I created a new table, tblClientAssessment and added the subform. However, for some reason each time I compile or close the table and re-open it, the recently added subform changes its Source Object property to the same as the tblClientNeedsMet subform. So I get have subforms with the same data appear.

    I spent most of the day yesterday deleting, recreating and pulling a lot of hair out before visiting the lounge. I'm completely confounded. So, what do you think... is it bad design or may my database be corrupted somehow internally?

    Thanks for your time,
    Brady

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: double subforms (Access 2000 SP-3)

    Whatever the design, a subform should not switch its source object spontaneously. What happens if you import all database objects into a new blank database?

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona, USA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: double subforms (Access 2000 SP-3)

    It worked! You were right.
    Thanks Hans!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •