Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Zone Alarm 3.7.211

    I've been using the above version for awhile. Recently, when I reboot or close it using EndItAll, I sometimes get a a web page that says Zone Alarm is preventing me from accessing the internet because it suspects a hacker (I'm paraphrasing a long page). Even if I start & stop Zone Alarm, I still get that page in whatever browser I try to access the internet with. I need to reboot completely to correct this. Until I do, I'm unable to access the internet with any browser (although I can get my mail using Netscape).

    This never used to happen. Does anyone have any idea why this is happening or what I can do to stop it?
    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm 3.7.211

    Phil, did you install this "thing" that we bandied about in <!post=this thread?,307365>this thread?<!/post> The reason I ask is that I too downloaded that confusing "version" but never did get the nerve to install it. My ZA is still at the same level (3.7.211) as yours and I just did a shutdown by right-clicking the ZA icon in the tray and didn't have a problem. I then rebooted (warm) to restart it and that too seems to be OK. I can't figure out what else you may have had happen to cause this malady. I'll keep "pondering..."

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm 3.7.211

    Hi Big Al:
    Thanks for checking. I did the same thing; I downloaded it but haven't installed it, so I still have the same version. But I don't get the problem when I shut down ZA & then reboot. I get the problem if I use EndItAll to shut down ZA (or sometimes, just doing a reboot without first shutting down ZA). ZA thinks a hacker is trying to shut it down & then access the internet.

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm 3.7.211

    Sorry, I missed the significance of EndItAll in the equation. Do you suppose if you went into the Program Control screen and manually added ENDITALL to the list that it would fix the problem? I have no idea if you would add it to only the "Access" column or if you would have to add it to the "Server" column as well. Whaddya think?

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm 3.7.211

    Al,

    I still have the latest version 4.0.210.000 installed here and have no shutdown problem at all that I'm aware of. I think there is a built in protection in ZA that wants to warn you that SOMETHING is trying to shutdown your firewall, since some of the newer virus types do that first, before sending you the "bug". I have to check to see if there is an option somewhere to enabledisable this feature. Not sure. ??

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm 3.7.211

    Yeah, but I don't think I would WANT to disable such a feature - that's kinda scary. I'd rather fix the EndItAll problem, if in fact that's what the problem is. One thing ya gotta say is that ZA is watching your back, huh?

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Zone Alarm 3.7.211

    That's for SURE ! <img src=/S/invisible.gif border=0 alt=invisible width=15 height=15>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Zone Alarm 3.7.211

    Well, I agree that I don't want to disable a feature that could save me some day. It's just that when you've been using it for years without a hitch, & all of a sudden it acts differently, you start to wonder. I did delete all my old internet logs some time ago & started over. But EndItAll doesn't access the internet. Maybe Spyware Blaster put a kill bit on something that prevented that behavior...I'm not really sure how Spyware Blaster works.

    I'm going to try a few regular shutdowns & then start up my internet connection without loading Zone Alarm & see what happens. Come to think of it, that's what puzzles me. How does ZA prevent internet access when it's closed...even after a reboot?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •