Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    543
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    ListNum field (WinXP|OXP)

    When writing a report I insert a specific page which contains a ListNum field to give all the inserted pagers a sequential number. Elsewhere in the report I insert the total number of pages inserted.

    What I would like to do is to automate this numbering by copying the number from the last inserted page and insert that number into the report as the total. For the life of me I cannot figure out how to copy the contents of the ListNum field for later use. I realise that I will have to convert the contents to an integer as I wish to determine if it is <1, =1 or >1. There could be a problem as I have mentioned previously that ListNum inserts a number with a close bracket, ), after it. e.g 1)

    Can anyone help?

    cheers
    cheers

    Phil Carter

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ListNum field (WinXP|OXP)

    Hi Phil:
    I thought we had taken care of the problem of getting rid of the parenthesis with the ListNum field. However, I don't think you can use the ListNum field in a formula. I would use a SEQ field, rather than a ListNum field. Then, for the total field, if your in the same document, you can use { ={SEQ Identifier}-1 }. This is because the SEQ field will give you the next number in series...so you substract 1. If you later delete or insert more files, just update the field.
    Hope this helps,

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    543
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ListNum field (WinXP|OXP)

    Phil thanks for your reply

    I tried everything you suggested to get rid of the parenthesis but it kept reverting to the default.

    I also tried using the SEQ field but I could not get the CAR number to increment.

    I have attached both forms and would appreciate it, if you have some time, if you could look at them to see how best to address the problem.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    cheers

    Phil Carter

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ListNum field (WinXP|OXP)

    Hi Phil:
    I took a look at both forms. I'm not a VBA expert, so I can't help with the macros. However, I inserted the "correction" file (the only one with a SEQ field in it) into the report file twice. Then I selected & updated the fields & the SEQ field was updated. So I'm not sure why it wouldn't work for you. You do have to select & update the fields. They will also update automatically when you print, if you have Tools/Options/Print/Update fields checked.
    Hope this helps,

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Posts
    543
    Thanks
    56
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ListNum field (WinXP|OXP)

    Phil thanks again

    I forgot about the F9 updating function. Tried it again and it works just fine.

    However, there is another requirement to move the CAR forms (shuffle them) within the report. I have this working fine with ListNum but SEQ will not handle this as, as far as I can remember/determine, you can only update a field once. What I am wanting to do requires that the contents an an enclosed bookmark be assigned to a variable. I have a query on the VB/VBA board about this.

    Again thanks for suggestions.

    Cheers
    cheers

    Phil Carter

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ListNum field (WinXP|OXP)

    <hr>you can only update a field once.<hr>
    That is definitely not true. Unless you lock a field, you can always update them. That is the whole purpose of using fields.
    Cheers,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •