Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Unknown Monitor

  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sunrise, Florida
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unknown Monitor

    A friend gave me a Monitor that has no identification for brand or model. I would like to use it on my kids' PC but I can't even find a driver for it. Is there any software out there that could detect the monitor's capabilities? Thanks in advance for any assistance!

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    If your kid's PC is XP, it will have a good stab at trying to determine what sort of monitor it is.

    Go into Control Panel => Display and note down as many of the pieces of information there (just in case). Power down, remove the old monitor, connect the anonymous one, then power on again. If you can see stuff on the screen, that's a good start! Then go back to Control Panel => Display and play to your heart's content... Reverse the operation when you've finished, or nothing is displayed on the screen.
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sunrise, Florida
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    I wish it were running XP. It's running Windows Me. Thanks for the information anyway!

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    Get this -
    http://www.aida32.hu/aida-download.php?bit=32
    I would recommend the 'personal system info' one.
    It will list all of the components of your computer, hardware and even the software that is installed.

  5. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    Most the time your Operating System, even WinMe will load a generic driver that will work with the Monitor.

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sunrise, Florida
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    To CowboyDawg: It does load a default monitor. However, the display looks like ... Thanks, anyway!
    To ilona53: Will do the download and try your suggestion. Thanks to you, too!

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    Aida32 will tell you a lot about your system, but it won't tell you what the capabilities of your monitor are. <img src=/S/disappointed.gif border=0 alt=disappointed width=15 height=15>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Sunrise, Florida
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    Thanks, Viking33. Guess I'll throw the Monitor out. Thanks to everyone for the time and guidance!

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    Explain what monitor capabilities is/are, please.

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    See the original post. His terminology, not mine.

    I assume he means just what kind of monitor and what it's technical "capabilities" are? <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    Aida32 certainly doesn't explain what the monitor is capable of doing.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    ahhh, ok. Cuz on my version of Aida32...I get the Monitor ID, Mfr., Mfr. date, S/N, Max visible display size, Picture Aspect Ratio, Horizontal Frequency, Vertical Frequency, and Gamma <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    Yes, mine also.
    But, it doesn't detect an unknown, improperly installed monitor and suggest that it is capable of being set at "xxxx" or whatever. <img src=/S/cranky.gif border=0 alt=cranky width=18 height=25> <img src=/S/hiding.gif border=0 alt=hiding width=70 height=24>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    Ok...how about that good ole standby...the Device Manager? Attached is what is listed for my monitor. Should be able to find data that way, by clicking on 'Properties', getting whatever data is shown, then clicking on the 'Driver' tab,etc.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  14. #14
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    Yes, That's good. At least going back to Roberto's original problem, it should show just what was detected and installed for that monitor and give him a shot at making changes there to make it work.

    BUT..per his last post, it looks like he is going to send it to the Monitor Graveyard, so this is a good discussion anyway. <img src=/S/hiding.gif border=0 alt=hiding width=70 height=24>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Lorain, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Unknown Monitor

    Yup...Monitor Graveyard for the poor thing...but at least this might help somebody. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •