Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Clone hard drive to move program?

    Greetings!

    I'm trying to help someone move a specialized application (it's a healthcare oriented sales product) from a laptop computer to a new desktop. Here's the catch: he does not have the installation disks (it's not pirated or anything, it's just out of dates and he lost the disks). The only thing I can think of is to clone his hard drive (20GB) onto a partition of his new desktop drive (or an external USB hard drive), then make that drive the startup path for the application on his new machine's start menu. My questions for the gang:

    (1) What problems do you forsee with this method?
    (2) Any suggestions as to particular software top use to clone the drive (if that's the best method)?
    (3) Is there a better way to go? (If so, what software/hardware needs would I have?)

    Thanks so much! <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

    Erik

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Clone hard drive to move program?

    I do NOT think you are going to get much help. You are going to need the install disks. Cloning the hard drive from a desktop to a laptop in the Windows world is not going to help much either. The OS is NOT going to work up front.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Clone hard drive to move program?

    It's rather difficult with Windows to insert a cloned image into even a modestly different hardware configuration. You need two things here: (1) the executables on disk, and (2) any settings in the Registry. You could try to extract the Program Files and related data file folders, and the most relevant registry keys, and bring those over to the target machine. You also could try software that purports to move programs. I'm not sure if Aloha Bob does it, but I've heard of at least one that says it can.

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    43.8N 81.0W, Ontario
    Posts
    815
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Clone hard drive to move program?

    Aloha Bob website

    Have a Great day!!!
    Ken
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/KenK_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Clone hard drive to move program?

    It has a lot to do with what OS you are talking about. I have pluged cloned Hard Drives into different machines with no problem. Sometimes it will have to load new drivers for the new hardware it comes across on the different motherboard. The only OS I know that will give you problems is WinXP, but other then WinXP I have never had a problem doing exactly what you are talking about. I use PowerQuest Drive Images 'Drive Copy" to do what you are talking about. But with WinXp, it won't work unless you are using a Corporate Edition, or you are installing it in a computer with the exact same setup and Hardware.

    I have a Motherboard setting behind that I use to test Hardware. And I have pluged a many of HardDrives into it with no problems.

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Clone hard drive to move program?

    Hmm. Well, thank you, guys, for the heads up on this. Given that my friend has to use WinXP on the new system (and I have no idea if the program will even run on linux or some other OS), that seems to limit my options considerably. The suggestion to use AlohaBob sounds promising... I had not heard of hte program before, and while it's a bummer they charge an extra $40 to be able to select what applications/settings to transfer, it may be worth it to him to try it out. I'll give that a shot if he's up for it. Thanks a lot for your seuugestions and warnings.

    cheers <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>,
    Erik

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Clone hard drive to move program?

    Thanks, jsher & ken, for the info about AlohaBob. That sure *sounds* promising, and there was no particular reason I needed to clone the drive if I can actually do what AlohaBob purports to do. So I'll run the cost by my buddy and hopefully give it a shot.

    Thanks! <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>
    Erik

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •