Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    ZoneAlarm 4.5.530

    <img src=/S/free.gif border=0 alt=free width=30 height=15> ZoneAlarm 4.5.530. Also the Pro version. Have just installed. So far so good. No problems with the upgrade install option.

    Joe
    Joe

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm 4.5.530

    This is absolutely amazing. Evidently the folks at ZA haven't gotten their act together on the currently installed product (3.7.211). I just clicked the "Check for updates" box as with the earlier thread where we talked about updates and the returning message said there are no updates available. However, it is pretty clear that this one does seem to be the latest, since it's easily reachable from the ZA main page. THNX, Joe. Phil, are you reading this? Wonder what this would do for your earlier problem? Speaking of Phil's problem, I meant to ask this in the other thread. Haven't I read somewhere in The Lounge that ZA is one of those products that's "difficult" to get completely un-installed?

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm 4.5.530

    Al

    > one of those products that's "difficult" to get completely un-installed

    I don't suppose you've ever had to uninstall Zinio Reader - it took me days...
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,593
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 4.5.530

    Big Al, ZA has the rep for being tough to get rid of. I think you've got to make sure you re-boot when instructed and still may have to do some registry spelunking. As I said in the other thread, I've had problems before with their update check. It is no good, IMHO.

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm 4.5.530

    Just now, about an hour after this post, ZA asked me on its own if I want to upgrade. It seems they finally got it together.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm 4.5.530

    Yeah. Me Too. I was doing some photo work on my computer and up came the popup asking me if I wanted to upgrade. Looks like they finally got caught up.....

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 4.5.530

    Hi Al:
    I haven't updated yet, but probably will. I checked when Joe first posted, but got a message back that there were no newer updates. After reading that you got notified today, I manually checked & now they say there is an update. Funny, I've been connected most of the day (although away from my computer), have ZA set to check for updates automatically, but they haven't notified me. Apparently, I'm way down in the pecking order. <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: ZoneAlarm 4.5.530

    <hr>...Apparently, I'm way down in the pecking order... <hr>
    I would tease you and say maybe they do it alphabetically, but Zave's last name comes after yours! Maybe it's done by time zone or IP address. Like Joe, I installed it and haven't had any problems. That was yesterday and I've had three or four reboots for various reasons, including an update from PC-Cillin which required a reboot. As expected, ZA jumped in and told me that a few Trend Micro modules had been updated. My settings seem to all be intact, so it looks smooth to me also.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Tampa, Florida, USA
    Posts
    110
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 4.5.530

    I also update yesterday without any problems. So far everything APPEARS to be running normal. <img src=/S/groovin.gif border=0 alt=groovin width=21 height=21>

    Last name begins with K ; eastern time zone (USA)

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: ZoneAlarm 4.5.530

    Hi Al:
    It must be something about my setup. On the Overview tab, I have it set to check for updates automatically, so I assume that ZA doesn't send anything...the firewall is just supposed to check at given intervals, like Windows Update. But...???

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •