Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Missing References (Access XP)

    Don't know how, but I've now got a missing reference being reported
    in Ms Visual basic in access xp.

    I suspect its something to do with either installing Add-ins, or an
    MS update, both of which I did today.

    I've un-instlled the add-ins, but that hasn't helped. I've also done
    a Detect & Repair.

    The program is looking for msoutl.olb in the Office11 directory. I do
    not have Office 11, but I do have a file of that name in my Office10
    directory.

    I've tried un-selecting the Missing file reference, and selecting the
    Outlook 10 Object Library, but its not accepted.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    Try the following:

    - Select Tools | References...
    - Clear the check box for msoutl.olb
    - Click OK
    - Select Debug | Compile <projectname>

    What happens?

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    I can't do the debug.

    When I select OK in the References box after unchecking the "Missing" reference, I get a dialog box saying

    Can't perform requested operation


    I noticed also that when I did ALT F11 to open the VBA window, I got a missing dll error (no file named)


    Colin

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    Try opening the database with the Shift key held down until the Database window appears. Go to the Visual Basic Editor immediately, without opening forms or reports (to avoid loading any code), and try again.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    Close the database and Access and then reopen. Do you know how to use decompile on the database? It sounds like that may be necessary. Also, if you don't have exclusive access to the database, you won't be able to change the references.
    Charlotte

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    Yes I do have exclusive access to the database.

    I've tried a re-start with SHIFT, and its crashed both times on me when I compile. I'll have a read now about de-compile and try that.

    Colin

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    Keeps crashing after the compile.

    Can't find anything in my books on de-compile. I'll have a look in the morning. I'm off to bed now.

    Thanks anyway

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    I fear that your database has become corrupted. Here is how to decompile:

    Select Start | Run...
    Type the following, substituting the correct path and name:

    "C:Program FilesMicrosoft OfficeOffice10MSACCESS.EXE" /Decompile "Cocuments and SettingsColinMy DocumentsMyDatabase.mdb"

    then press Enter. then try to compile again.

    If that doesn't work, try importing all database objects into a blank new database.

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Niagara Falls, New York, USA
    Posts
    1,878
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    Hi Colin

    Decomplile is part of life with access databases. Charlotte once said, there are gremlins lurking in the code.

    I build a ms-dos batch file for each of my databases so I don

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    I noitce that Hans and John give different versions of how to decompile.

    Hans has "run access" /decompile "database"
    John has "run access", "database" /decompile

    I use the second, but this makes me wonder what's the right way.
    Regards
    John



  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    Both work.

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Arlington, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,394
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    In general the order of command-line arguments used to start Access does not matter, except where noted. If you search for "Startup command-line options" in Access Help and check the list of options, the only exception appears to be the /cmd option, which "Specifies that what follows on the command line is the value that will be returned by the Command function. This option must be the last option on the command line. " Note the /decompile option is NOT listed in Help, as it is officially "undocumented", though you may find it referenced in the MSKB or elsewhere. For example, see ACC97: How to Repair a Damaged Jet 3.5 Database, which states in part:
    <hr>If the corruption involves being unable to open the class module of a form or a report, or the design view of a module, you may want to try the /decompile command line switch. It is strongly recommended that you make a back-up copy of the database before attempting this method. The following is a sample command with the /decompile switch, wherein MSAccess.exe is in its default location and the database DB1.mdb is in the C: folder:

    C:Program FilesMicrosoft OfficeOfficeMSAccess.exe /decompile CB1.mdb

    After running this command from the Run box, you are prompted to compile the database after using /decompile. <hr>
    An explanation I once read stated that the /decompile option is undocumented because it was really never intended for use by end-users.

    HTH

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    Thanks Hans

    The decompile command worked perfectly, first time.

    Thanks again

  14. #14
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    492
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Missing References (Access XP)

    John

    Thanks for the comments.

    I already have a number of back-up /defrag etc progs running each night using batch files, and I've just written one to do with this database exactly as you've suggested.

    I'll include my other db's at the weekend, when I've got time.

    Thanks to everyone for their time and comments.


    Thanks

  15. #15
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Salem, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    219
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    /Decompile (Access XP)

    Hi, Mark D -- I thought I'd pick on you to ask, although Mark L , Charlotte and a number of others have talked about the /Decompile switch in this forum. I've tried it a couple of times, but have never been sure it "worked" -- because I get no prompts to compact afterwards. I've had no error message that goes away to make me feel better, it's just that the database crashes and corrupts here and there, and since it's gone through iterations from 2.0 to XP, I thought it would be a Good Thing to do. If I don't get prompted to compact, does it mean that it just didn't /decompile for me?
    thx
    Pat

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •