Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Record 'indicator' on SubForm? (XP pro)

    I have two subforms (authors and publishers) on the main data entry form for a books database. The subforms use data from linked tables and function correctly. One subform has the "record indicator" at the bottom of the subform and one does not. The data is displayed in datasheet form and the up/down arrows are sufficient - the record indicator function is not needed.

    How do you "turn off" the "record indicatior" (or turn it on) on a form or subform?

    What is the correct Access technical term to describe the "record indicator"?

    Bob Holmstr

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Record 'indicator' on SubForm? (XP pro)

    Open the properties sheet for the subform and set Navigation Buttons to No.
    Charlotte

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Record 'indicator' on SubForm? (XP pro)

    Thank you Charolotte,

    My subform does not have a Navigation Buttons property but looking further I discovered that I had somehow managed to create a subform placed on a form of identical size to the subform all placed on the main form. It certainly didn't help that both were called "form"!

    Bob Holmstr

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Record 'indicator' on SubForm? (XP pro)

    Excuse me? All forms and subforms have a Navigation Buttons property. Look on the Format tab of the properties sheet with the subform open in design view.
    Charlotte

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Record 'indicator' on SubForm? (XP pro)

    Charlotte,

    Yes, I suppose all forms should have Navigation Buttons property but at least two subforms in my database do not seem to. My guess is that it has something to do with my having started with the book database created by the Access Database Wizard - I have read somewhere that using the Database Wizards constrains the resulting database in hidden ways (at least to an amateur like me).

    I have attached a screen shot of the subform with "All" selected. I will attach a second screen shot of the whole entry screen to a following post since both won't fit in 100k file limit.

    I am considering splitting the database into front end / back end and redoing the front end from scratch to get around the problems.

    Bob Holmstr
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Record 'indicator' on SubForm? (XP pro)

    And here is the whole data entry form
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Record 'indicator' on SubForm? (XP pro)

    Bob,

    This is the Properties window for the subform as a control on the main form. To set properties such as record selectors and navigation buttons, you must open the subform in design view from the database window.

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Record 'indicator' on SubForm? (XP pro)

    You're looking in the wrong place. The property sheet you're looking at is for the subform *control*, which does not have those properties. You need to open the subform itself in design view, now from within the parent form.
    Charlotte

  9. #9
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Record 'indicator' on SubForm? (XP pro)

    Hans and Charlotte,

    Ok, I am now making progress - I was able to get to both the control and the subform from the main form but with much difficulty. Now I need to go and clean up form and sub form names so that I can find my way around.

    Thanks
    Bob Holmstr

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •