Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Drive Image Continued

    I know I'm stomping on a probably-almost-dead equine here, so I won't link you to previous, long threads on Drive Image from PowerQuest. But, I would like to mention the <!post=thread starting here,299320>thread starting here<!/post> in the Hardware forum. I have an older Pentium Pro 200 machine that I've kept around for backup purposes. It has an 8 gig boot drive and three 40 gig data drives, to which I alternate once a week Drive Image backups of five partitions on this XP Pro machine. When I described intermittent "...unable to write..." failures with Drive Image (it didn't happen every week!) it was suggested that I might have a power problem. I finally did buy a new 300 watt power supply, ran Drive Image last week and it worked without a problem. Guess what - this week it failed AGAIN, with that same problem. I've checked and re-checked the destination hard drives with Maxtor's diagnostics (latest) and they're OK. Somehow I think the problem lies in Drive Image 7.01 but I don't imagine I'll ever be able to prove it to PQ. My normal procedure is to run a Drive Image "job," consisting of the five partitions I want to backup. When it fails, usually about 70-80% through, it deletes the destination files of whatever partitions it has already backed up. Dang! This morning I tried again, this time running each of the five partitions SEPARATELY and that worked OK. I still don't know what kind of slime ball I'm dealing with here - bad software or a (somehow) glitch in the destination machine. Just thought I'd tell the group, for what little it's worth.

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image Continued

    Al,

    I think you are on to something with the Separate partitions. Am I reading it right, that you were trying to Image a total of 128gigs to one back up Image? Sounds like DI is running out of gas with that much imaging to do? How about trying TWO or THREE separate images, to see if there is a size problem in DI? Don't know, just a way to verify it.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image Continued

    No, I may not have worded it clearly enough, Bob. That 128 gig is the total of four drives in the DESTINATION machine. I alternate backing up TO the three 40 gig drives (D, E and F) each week, so I always have three backup images on three separate drives, in case one should fail. On my SOURCE machine, I have three drives with a total of six partitions, one of which is the Swap file partition. The total used space in the five partitions I do backups for is about 15 gig, so it's not really that much data. However, I do think that Drive Image 7.01 is "choking" on the job when it has to do five partitions, one right after the other. A footnote is that DI, even when you bundle multiple partitions into one job, WRITES five separate backup files on the destination drive, using the name of the source drive as the filename. I do think you're right though, because it never seems to choke if I do each partition separately, sort of stopping between each one, to prepare the next one.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Drive Image Continued

    BigAl, Can you put one of the backup drives into the system being backed up and give it a try? That may eliminate a network issue if it consistently works with a local drive. What happens if you run two backup jobs with one backing up three partitions and then two? Seems like DI may have a bug with backing up multiple partitions at once. Also, did it happen with 7.0 (I know DI was updated rather quickly to 7.01)?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image Continued

    Hey, thanx for the ideas, Joe! Let me answer your last question first. Yes, this problem has been happening since day-one, that's why I went looking at PQ and found the 7.01 update. I sort of did the test you recommend, but since I have been "convinced" it's not a bad drive, I've done local machine backups to one of the drives on this XP machine without a failure. Obviously I couldn't do all five partitions, so I did both a 4-partition combo job backup on two occasions without failure. I also did a couple of single-partition backups to the local machine without failure. I guess because of the intermittent nature of the failures I don't think I can draw any solid conclusions.

    But I think you're in the right ballpark - it must have something to do with "network destinations" or the "multiple partition" aspect. I don't know if I'll ever know since I haven't found any mention of anyone else having the same problem. I also admit that I gave up writing to PQ since they were so anxious to slough me off initially. One day in the "future" when I can find something better I'll probably dump Drive Image. I just don't (yet) want to try the gizmo that Fred Langa recommended. I'm looking.....

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts

    Re: Drive Image Continued

    Hey BigAl, Should've guessed you'd have tried several things already. Support from Powerquest is almost as bad as Symantec's. You really have to be persistent and very patient. I'm alos looking as I believe that Symantec is acquiring Powerquest. After some issues I've had at work with Symantec support, I'll not have one of their products on any system I own.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image Continued

    Al,
    You might want to check out True Image. I've been using this in place of DI for a while now and it seems to be more "flexible" and easier to use than DI. Quicker? I think so.

    Check it out at Acronis True Image

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image Continued

    Also wanted to add:
    At the time I bought it anyway, They were offering it for $9.99 ( US ) for anyone who had either DI or Norton Ghost installed on their machine.
    Don't know if that still applies, but it's still pretty cheap w/o the discount.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image Continued

    THANK YOU, Bob! I was embarrassed to ask, given the number of posts I've made in support of PowerQuest! You can bet your <img src=/w3timages/censored.gif alt=censored border=0> I'm goin' right NOW to give it a look-see.....

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image Continued

    A followup question, Bob, if I may. The link that you pointed me to is for their Server product, Version 7 @ $299. I went to the products page and saw that what appears to be the "workstation" product is Version 6. Can you confirm that Version 6 is what you're using, please? The only special I see is for Ghost users, but that's no big deal if the product is good.

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Drive Image Continued

    Al,

    Yes it is Version 6.0.0., Build 350. for standalone workstations. Sorry about that.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •