Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Address Line Search to Google (6.0.2800...)

    On my old Win98 asystem with IE6.0 I was able to customize the IE settings to enter a search phrase in the address bar and that would take me directly to a Google search results page. Now I guess my brain needs an upgrade! I can't seem to figure out how to set up that handy feature. I'd appreciate any guidance. TIA, J

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Address Line Search to Google (6.0.2800...)

    Click on the Search button on the IE Toolbar. In the resultant Search pane (Explorer bar) click on Customize. Then click AutoSearch Settings. Then select Google.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Address Line Search to Google (6.0.2800...)

    If you want to increase the number of searches you can do in addition to Google and also the variety of Google searches from an address bar incorporated into the small space of your taskbar plus a calendar all available on a right click, downoad <A target="_blank" HREF="http://notesbydave.com/toolbar/doc.htm">
    Dave's Quick Search Taskbar Toolbar Deskbar No Bugs Free</A>

    SMBP

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Address Line Search to Google (6.0.2800...)

    Making Google the default Search Engine is useful, but not the same as assigning it to the Address bar Searches.

    If it is the default Search Engine, that means when you click the Search button, a Google screen opens in the "Vertical Explorer Bar" (see image).
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,788
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Address Line Search to Google (6.0.2800...)

    Another way is to update the registry by downloading a small file from Google which automatically makes Google the default search engine.

    Go to http://www.google.com/google.reg
    You will be asked to download a file (it is very small download) - choose the option to save the file.
    Once downloaded open google.reg
    Click OK to add the information from the file to your registry.

    If you want to go back to the default setting then download http://www.google.com/default.reg

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Address Line Search to Google (6.0.2800...)

    <img src=/S/hello.gif border=0 alt=hello width=25 height=29> Hi R2, I must be thick as a brick today, when I go into Search>Customize>Auto search settings, the only option available is MSN, cant seem to edit, add or alter, what am I doing wrong pray tell? <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Address Line Search to Google (6.0.2800...)

    Another Microsoft victim! Unless you set Internet Explorer to US English (Tools | Internet Options..., General tab, Languages... button), MSN is the only option presented. <img src=/S/disappointed.gif border=0 alt=disappointed width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Address Line Search to Google (6.0.2800...)

    Well, if you don't speak US English, then you deserve what you get! ;-]

    In all seriousness, I suspect that is a "User Interface" problem and not a lack of Functionality. MS has jsut not bothered to update the User Interface if you don't speak their primary language. And who says Americans are obnoxious?

    You can likely make the modification yourself by running this .reg file:

    ----------------------------------

    REGEDIT4

    [HKEY_CURRENT_USERSoftwareMicrosoftInternet ExplorerSearchUrl]
    "Provider"="gogl"

    ----------------------------------
    Attached Images Attached Images

  9. #9
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    549
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Address Line Search to Google (6.0.2800...)

    Hi HansV and R2, thanks for the info. Hans, altering to US English helped, tho' the search companion showing up was something new. I have always searched by using google as my home page, so the seach pane options are relatively new to me. At least I can now see the list of engines available, which, as you say, were not showing or available to add or edit before I altered the language settings. Many thanks for the help. <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •