Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    632
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    Something caused IE6 to stop opening multiple windows on my computer. It *was* working, but now when I click File > New > Window or press Ctrl-N, I see some "screen jostling" and then back into the same location. I *did* install the Google Toolbar, but I've put that software onto other computers with no adverse effects. I can't think of anything else that I could have done to cause this behaviour, although I've installed a lot of software onto this machine. This is a brand-new install on a new computer under XP Pro.

    Any help appreciated.
    --------------------------------------------------
    Jack MacDonald
    Vancouver, Canada

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    Jack--

    While not dead on, you might get some help from these. I'm wondering if the KB can apply to this. If not, I'd quickly reach for System File Checker which may be another approach to fixing a damaged .dll or other corrupted file that could be causing this.

    Can't open a new Window from within IE Tech Tip thread608-132319

    281679: You Cannot Open New Internet Explorer Window or Nothing Happens After You Click a Link

    SMBP

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    632
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    No joy so far with the information from the Tek Tips link, however, the Microsoft one yielded some results. When attempting to re-register the DLLs, I find that Msjava.dll does not exist on my computer. *Should* it exist? If so, where would I find an original?

    The instructions further down the page suggest re-installing the O/S if the earlier steps fail to resolve the problem and if IE was installed as part of the O/S. I would like to avoid that if possible.


    BTW - (and I don't know if this is a clue or not) but when I am logged onto Woody's Lounge, my browser shows activity every 30 sec or so as I just sit here. IOW, the "connecting" progress bar periodically flashes on the screen. I don't recall ever seeing that on my old machine. Is it normal behaviour? I've scanned recently for virus and adware.

    Thanks
    --------------------------------------------------
    Jack MacDonald
    Vancouver, Canada

  4. #4
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    MSJava will not exist on your WinXP computer unless you installed Java from Microsoft. Most of these problems can be resolved by re-registering the DLL's. I don't know what the activity is -- unless... is Lex streamed to us??

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.

    The activity every 30 seconds is the refreshing of the Google ads - click through so that we can carry on with bringing back the Search function.
    Gre

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    The activity every (I think it is) 45 seconds is the refreshing of the Google ads in the lower left corner of the Lounge page. (Shameless plug: by clicking on these ads you generate a small amount of money towards buying a new Lounge server and the restoration of the search facility.)

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    Having read R2 and Unk's info just now, I want you to run System File Checker--if it should exist that will probably replace it if it's damaged or missing. See details on how below. I think this will get the reregistering of intact .dlls done for you where Rick was headed. Rick will correct me if I'm wrong, but run SFC. Don't even think about reinstalling the OS yet. You can also try and do a parallel or repair install but you should first

    1) Run SFC

    222193: System File Protection in Windows XP

    SFC Explained Sort of....

    2) Run System Restore

    3) 31534: How to Perform an In-Place Upgrade (Reinstallation) of Windows XP

    When you say this .dll does not exist I think you're getting an error message that says that. I suspect this .dll came from downloading MSJAVA at one time. It's all over the MSDN and Technet articles on MSJava VM. Do this whenever you get an error message--not for me but to help you search an answer. Take down or put in notepad any number any box will give you. Then it's helpful and a good habit I think to go to event viewer and see if it'll give up any info on the error. Often it will. Then you can use the numbers to search. Their are a number of errors associated with this .dll and without reading further I suspect it is a file needed for the MS Java Virtual machine. I wouldn't go out and look for it, I'd do what I asked you to do before--please run System File Checker and that will probably replace it. Throw in your XP CD, and go to the run box and type 1) sfc /purge cache takes 5 seconds or less to run and then 2) sfc /scannow Their is a space in between the "c" and the forward slash. Second step takes 30-35minutes and progress bar runs; when finished successful run is not shown in box--but can be found under Windows File Protection in event viewer (eventvwr.msc in your run box.

    Here are a list of error messages--maybe you can match an MSKB here to yours for more context.

    Msjava.dll - Errors

    You can search dlls lots of places. Below is a good one:

    DLL Help Data Base--Microsoft

    Results MSJava.dll
    All the .dlls/drivers you'll ever need

    Again run SFC and let's see what happens. I have info on SFC all over the XP and IE threads and can link you if needed.

    SMBP

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    I have never owned a copy of WindowsXP -- so correct me if I am wrong -- but I was under the impression that every copy of XP was released without Microsoft Virtual Machine (Java). My understanding was that this was because of the Sun lawsuit. If you own XP and you never installed Microsoft Virtual Machine, you should not have a "msjava.dll" file.

    One quick method to verify is to Open a Run box and type "wjview" (no quotes) and hit Enter. I suspect this will do nothing if you never installed MSJava/Virtual Machine.

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    632
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    R2 -- correct for this machine. The "run" command results in an error.

    Here's what I meant when I referred to the MSjava.dll being missing:

    - followed the directions of the MS KB article that said to re-register the DLLs
    - all the DLLs in the list EXCEPT the msjava.dll were re-registered correctly
    - Windows could not find the msjava.dll file
    - a conventional search of all disk drives failed to locate the file

    There was never an error message except the one when I tried to run regsvr against the missing DLL



    I am still no closer to getting the original problem fixed. I followed SMPB's advice about the sfc. Nothing explicit appeared on my screen, so I checked using eventvwr. It indicates that there is a suspended System Restore. Not sure whether I clobbered something by following the advice in "Windows XP Annoyances" to reduce the amount of space consumed by System Restorer. I set it to 500 MB, and its now complaining there is less than 200 MB free space. The C: drive has 5 GB -- go figure!

    I keep getting the feeling that I am digging myself further into a hole.
    --------------------------------------------------
    Jack MacDonald
    Vancouver, Canada

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    That's true but many people did install MS VM and some both and you're right about both--you can also do the same command at the dos prompt and if you get info you have it. What I was concerened about was the language "reregistering your .dlls"--i.e that if Jack ran System File Checker, he could fix this I believe, but in doing so he would replace damaged .dlls and reregister them with the correct intact ones. Is that not true?

    Also I felt System Restore would have a place if that weren't successful.

    SMBP

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    632
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    Gosh!!! I've got it solved. All I need to do to get multiple IE windows is to boot the computer in Safe Mode. Now why didn't I think of that earlier <img src=/S/bummer.gif border=0 alt=bummer width=15 height=15>
    --------------------------------------------------
    Jack MacDonald
    Vancouver, Canada

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    I'm mixed up with what's going on Jack. I'm not being defensive when I say that SFC or System Restore would not have dug you in deeper. These are too pretty innocuous moves. No down side to SFC and System Restore's worst result is you have to replace hotfixes. If you do an SR in Safe Mode you can't reverse it, but people forget that otherwise you can.

    1) What were you getting in Event Viewer as to error messages? It's a much neglected and paradoxically one of the best sources of error info in Win 2K and Win XP. MS did an entire Tech Net on it last week for this reason and the Webcast can be viewed free by anyone at their Events Webcast site.

    2) Can you please paste me the whole SR message you got--SR suspeneded--check at System Properties and see if it's on. Also put "services.msc" in the run box--you have Pro and make sure you have system restore activated there at the entry. If you have a data only drive as one of your drives you don't need SR on that drive because it won't be doing anything with data.

    3) Do you mean you booted to Safe Mode and bingo everything is A-OK or this is just fixed in Safe Mode?

    4) "I set it to 500 MB, and its now complaining there is less than 200 MB free space" I think you need to examine your drives and see exactly how much space what components are taking so you get an accurate idea. SR (and there are many links on this on the XP section) defaults to 90 days.

    If you read the KB on SFC--you run it and get a progress bar and as I said you're going to get no completion notice unless you look in Event Viewer and if it was successful you'll get "Windows File Protection--System File Checker Ran Successfully."
    Attached Images Attached Images

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    I am equally confused. If booting into the Safe Mode fixed the problmem -- but only in the safe mode -- then you have no fix at all. But, that does tell us that SOMETHING is loading in the Normal mode that is interfering with IE's functinality. This now becomes a Security breech issue...

    But let me back pedal. It is not "same command at the dos prompt" -- the DOS command is "jview". <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    Running SFC will not replace DLL's that never existed. To have msjava.dll on your computer you must first install MS Virtual Machine. You cannot "register" a DLL that is not on your computer.

    What is "registering" a DLL??? Well, DLL's are simply "application extensions". They contain native code and/or other "resources" that give increased functionality to a given program, or various programs. And that is part of the beauty of DLL's -- they can be used by more than one program. They are "library" files that any program can tap into and use.

    When you register a DLL, you are running the "Registry Instructions" that exist inside the DLL. Not all DLL's have Registration Instructions. The easiest example to use is "kernel32.dll" -- just try to register that. It can't be done because it contains no instructions. The Instructions are typicallly identified by an "entry point", so when you try to registy kernel32.dll, you are hit with warning box that says: "kernel.dll was loaded, but the DllRegisterServer entry point was not found." It wasn't found because it doesn't exist!

    So, you can only "register" DLL files that A) exist on your computer and [img]/forums/images/smilies/cool.gif[/img] contain Registry Instructions. The purpose of registering the DLL is to "expose" their functions to other programs. Lets say you have a DLL that will print perfect copies of $20 bills and you want to access that function from within Word. Well, Word will look in the Registry to see if you have "registered" that function. If it finds that function, it can then use it however it wants to. If the function is not registered, then other programs will not know where to find these functions.

    Therefore, when IE screws up, it is frequently because one of the "Application Extensions" for IE is not correct identifying its internal functions. By re-registering the DLL's you are making sure that all functions are correctly being identified and located in the registry.

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Br. Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    632
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    I'm mixed up with what's going on Jack. I'm not being defensive when I say that SFC or System Restore would not have dug you in deeper. These are too pretty innocuous moves. No down side to SFC and System Restore's worst result is you have to replace hotfixes. If you do an SR in Safe Mode you can't reverse it, but people forget that otherwise you can.

    >>>>>> Not to imply that your suggestions harmed. It's *me* that has dug myself deeper (see below). I understand that you have suggested prudent actions.



    2) Can you please paste me the whole SR message you got--SR suspeneded--check at System Properties and see if it's on. Also put "services.msc" in the run box--you have Pro and make sure you have system restore activated there at the entry. If you have a data only drive as one of your drives you don't need SR on that drive because it won't be doing anything with data.

    >>>>>>>>>>>

    OK - system restore is set to Automatic and is currently running. (see below)

    this is from a message whose Source is "srservice". It was sandwiched between two messages from "Windows File Protection", one of which stated Windows File Protection was Started, and the other message when it stopped.

    Message reads:

    The System Restore service has been suspended because there is not enough disk space available on the drive ?Volume{3ab68a2d-1ce3-11d8-be14-806d6172696f}. System Restore will automatically resume service once at least 200 MB of free disk space is available on the system drive.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.


    Here's the confusing part:
    - double-clicking the link provided with the message opens onto MS site **in a new window**
    - conventional IE exhibits the bad behaviour at the same time (single window only)
    - disk space is at least 5 GB

    BUT (and here's where I dug myself a hole), I had configured System Restore to consume no more than 500 MB of C: drive.
    SO I opened Control Panel > System > System Restore, and found that it was "suspended" because of a lack of space.

    Close and re-open System Restore several times, and it remains "suspended"
    Being an XP neophyte, I checked and then cleared the "Turn off system restore" checkbox (BAD MOVE!!!)
    No warning was issued
    (Some time later, can't remember the exact sequence of events, but there was at least one reboot....)
    Tried to use the System Restore. It's running again, but there is NOTHING to restore. I had seen the restore points earlier this evening, but now they are gone. Arghhhhhhhhh. My guess is that checking and clearing the box cause Windows to discard the restore points.

    I did not attempt System Restore while in Safe Mode.


    3) Do you mean you booted to Safe Mode and bingo everything is A-OK or this is just fixed in Safe Mode?

    >>>>>>>>>>>> Just fixed while in Safe Mode.
    Also tried this -- created a new user account to see if the incorrect behaviour comes with. It does.... a fresh account only allows one window for IE.
    What I don't get is that Safe Mode works, but ALL the user accounts are corrupted. To me, that implies the executable files are intact, but something in a configuration is corrupt. But the corrupt configuration is applied to all user accounts EXCEPT whatever is used when in Safe Mode. That's getting too detailed for me to puzzle out!!!


    4) "I set it to 500 MB, and its now complaining there is less than 200 MB free space" I think you need to examine your drives and see exactly how much space what components are taking so you get an accurate idea. SR (and there are many links on this on the XP section) defaults to 90 days.

    there are two physical disks in the system.
    C: 10 GB total, 5 GB occupied
    D: 1 GB !!!!! Not really used for anything
    E: a Sandisk Compact Flash reader
    F: second partition on primary disk 50 GB total, 10 GB occupied

    This computer has only existed for 7 days.

    I used the Disk Cleanup wizard. It deleted about 90 MB of dead files -- I think that was the item that caused SR to become unsuspended. Of the 90 MB of dead files, 28 were in Recycle and 60 MB were in Web Client/Publisher Temp (that's the label that appeared in Disk Cleanup wizard)




    If you read the KB on SFC--you run it and get a progress bar and as I said you're going to get no completion notice unless you look in Event Viewer and if it was successful you'll get "Windows File Protection--System File Checker Ran Successfully."

    >>>>>>>>> Correct. that's exactly the behaviour I observed. The items in the Event Viewer indicated that it completed successfully. I ran it once between 6:43 and 6:53 this evening. The "disk full" message that I described earlier was issued 9 seconds before the "completed successfully" message.

    I ran SFC for a second time between 6:58 and 7:38 this evening. There were no intervening messages, but I think that System Restore was "suspended" during this time because of the previously-mentioned "disk full" error. There is an event message at 7:47 that the System Restore service had resumed because sufficient space was freed.

    The event log also has several messages like this:
    The %JUPITER.DeviceDesc% service failed to start due to the following error:
    The service cannot be started, either because it is disabled or because it has no enabled devices associated with it.



    SMBP - you have put a lot of effort into this, and I would understand completely if you wanted to bow out. I am really tempted to just nuke everything and start afresh because it *is* a brand-new system. But I would also understand if you wanted to get to the bottom of it (I've been there with trying to understand how these &#$%#$@# computers work). If you have any more ideas, I am willing to try for the sake of both our knowledge, but there comes a time to cut your losses!

    Enough for tonight.
    --------------------------------------------------
    Jack MacDonald
    Vancouver, Canada

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't opne multiple IE windows (6.0.2800.1106.sp2)

    R2--

    1) Sorry there with jview. I should have checked--I wanted to respond but I was rushing out-- no excuse. Thanks for the distinction. Here's what I see in XP on the commands. At the run box wjview must be used, but at the dos prompts either will work. If you use wjview you'll get a box up, but if you use jview at the dos prompt the info will print in the dos window.

    2) Thanks for confirming what I thought about SFC--hard to replace what never existed--agreed. I still thought it would help Jack to run SFC though--and wasn't sure of the connection at all of the .dll message to his original problem. Thanks for the nice added info on registering a .dll--I wouldn't have guessed not all have registry instructions--and I probably wouldn't have run across this reading.

    3) I wonder what you think of running SFC for his original window problem and that his .dll error probably wasn't related to it.

    Jack--

    Help us out with the Safe Mode information. Where do you stand now when you boot up without Safe Mode as to 1) the IE multiple windows 2) the .dll error 3) the status of your system restore--can you run it--how many drives do you have and is it on and how much space on each drive 4) when you put "services.msc" in the run box is system restore service started? Can you run it now or what happens when you try--how many restore points does the calendar say you have? 5) Is their a windows file protection run successfully entry in event viewer and did you see a progress bar run for 30 minutes--did it require your XP Pro CD?

    Thanks,

    SMBP

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •