New Lounger
    Thanks

Add Colums to MS Access table (English/Access/2000)

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to VB so my appologies for any glaringly obvious questions [img]/forums/images/smilies/wink.gif[/img] I'm trying to write a module for an Access report I'm doing. The first thing I need to do is to build a table. I've created the table manually and it has one field - "employee_number". A query then populates this field with employee numbers (bet you couldn't have guessed that! [img]/forums/images/smilies/wink.gif[/img]). The next thing I need to do is read in a list of values from another table and create a new field (column) in this table for each value. For example, if my first value I read is "0001", I want to create a new field in the table containing "employee_number" called "0001". I've tried to look for a VB equivalent of the "ALTER TABLE" command in SQL but can't find anything in the help - do I simply use SQL straight in my VB code? (like I said - VB newbie here [img]/forums/images/smilies/wink.gif[/img]).

Thanks in advance,
    Chris.

Super Moderator
    Thanks

Re: Add Colums to MS Access table (English/Access/2000)

Hi Chris,
    First of all, welcome to Woody's Lounge - we try to be the friendliest, most helpful place on the web for questions like yours. Also, note that I moved your question to the Access forum, operating under the presumption you are working in Access and VBA, rather than using VB and just the Jet engine. If I'm wrong, please let me know and we can move it back.

Assuming you are doing this in Access, you can add the table field using the TableDef collection and modifying it's properties to add the new field, and then set the field properties. You can read more about this kind of stuff in the Help file by looking at the Object Model for Access, and also by looking at the properties information in the VBA help. To get to that you need to open a module in design mode and then click Help.