Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Acronis True Image

    Hey Viking, thanks for the recommendation! I've downloaded and installed but haven't made a backup yet. Plan on trying it out this weekend. However, "first blush" comment - I'm impressed so far. I made both floppy and CD recovery disks without a problem. I'm not sure how the floppy system will work but it's interesting to note that it took five floppies and there are mostly .BIN files on 'em. It seems the program must expand itself into a RAM disk when you run it.

    I do have a question about the CD emergency disk however. I see that when I look at the disk with Windows Explorer it seems to be BLANK. How (why) do they do that? It seems to me I just recently acquired something that copied an ISO image to CD, but when it was done, I could see the files on the CD as one would expect.

    One of the reasons I'm initially impressed is that, unlike Drive Image 7, whose recovery CD takes 5-7 <big>MINUTES</big> booting up, the True Image CD booted in about 30-35 <big>SECONDS</big>, to the menu screen. Since my home LAN router is now setup under DHCP, all I had to do with True Image was enter the UNC share name and it immediately could see my network backup drives. Very nice, considering the monkey-drills I've been through with Drive Image. Happy Turkey Day!

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image

    Big Al,
    Your welcome. Yes I'M pretty impressed with TI so far. It's fast and flexible in it's features.

    I never looked at the contents of the emergency boot CD until you mentioned it. I have two files on mine.

    Joliet.fs 0KB
    true image 6_0_s_en.exe 11,367 KB

    Hope it works out for you OK.
    Have a great Thanksgiving. Don't eat too much ! I know I won't. ha, ha. <img src=/S/cooked.gif border=0 alt=cooked width=50 height=46>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image

    Big Al,

    I am unable to view the contents of my True Image "Boot Disk" as well. I've tried enabling all the "hidden file" types, "Contents of system folders", etc., to no avail. However, the disk does work just fine. In fact, I always bootup using that disk instead of using the Windows interface as I find it much simpler. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> That sounds like a good question to pose to Acronis Tech Support? If you do contact them, I for one, would be very interested in hearing what they have to say.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image

    Jeff, I did send a question email to support, so I'll let you know if they respond. Meanwhile, I'm a little happy AND a little disappointed in TrueImage so far. I couldn't stand the waiting, so I did a couple of one-partition backups yesterday and was disappointed in the length of time it took. The second time, I used zero compression but it didn't improve the time much and resulted in a file only slightly larger than the default compression (#3 on their slider chart). The happy part is that it worked without a hitch and that's an improvement over Drive Image! Today I did a backup (complete) of the five partitions I normally make images of. I think the time was terrible. It took 3 and a half hours to backup about 11 gig of data at zero compression. Drive Image (when it didn't fail!) would do the job in half that time! And, at that I had to "guesstimate" the time elapsed since TrueImage doesn't report time elapsed. I made note of the time when I pressed the "proceed" button and compared that to the file date stamp on the third of the created files. Pretty slow in my opinion.

    It's also a little disappointing that the program does not return to the menu when it's finished with an operation - it only offers "Quit" as the next option. If I want to make separate backups of more than one partition, I'll have to re-start the program each time. A very nice addition to the software would be some kind of scheduler. I guess I could write an AutoIt script to do middle of the night images, but Acronis should offer that service in the package.

    This afternoon when I got home I ran the "Explore an Image" subset and it mounts each of the partitions in the backup file(s) as drives, but I didn't go any further with attempting to restore individual files. I'll try that later to see what it does. I guess you can tell I'm a tad lukewarm at this point. TrueImage seems to perform, but it surely could be better!

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image

    Big Al,

    I'm not sure why your backup session took so long. You didn't specify the destination medium you used, however. But, I can tell you about my own experience. I backup weekly my single partition on my XP machines, using Sony Hi-Speed 4x-10x (CD-RW650HS) disks. The amount of data is c. 5 gigs. Compression is always set at Level 3. Burner is a Liteon 52x24x52x (LTR-52246S). Total amount of time required from beginning to end is 40 minutes. Specs: AMD Athlon XP 1.8; 512 megs DDR SDRAM; WD 40 gig 7200 rpm HD. In the beginning, I used the standard 4x CD-RW disks and the time required was 1 hr. 15 minutes.

    As far as the Image Explorer utility is concerned. Currently, this works best if the "image" to be viewed is located on a HD. However, there is a work around for images saved on CD/CD-RW media. You have to copy over ALL the files to your HD in a temporary folder and then you can view them using the Explorer utility. Acronis is hoping to incorporate the ability to use the Image Explorer with CDs as it now works for HDs by the end of the year.

    Scheduling would be a nice feature for those who do incremental backups. Personally, I do everything manually because I choose to use CD-RWs to store my backups, and thus that particular feature isn't a priority for me. But I can see how that would be a nice addition to those who do incremental backups to another HD or to another partition on the same HD. (which is not a wise thing to do).

    Lastly, I agree that being able to return to the main menu would be beneficial if you are doing backups of more than one partition.

    I can tell you, though, that the tech support from Acronis is excellent. They do listen to suggestions and incorporate them over time. They also give personal attention to individual problems, to which I can personally affirm from my own experience.

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image

    Speaking of support, Jeff, I got a reply a short while ago to my question about the CD. A fella named Dmitry Krasilnikov wrote that the files on the CD are supposed to be hidden from view. Short note. That's all he said. No explanation of HOW they manage that trick.

    I do MY backup to a machine on my home LAN with 4 dedicated hard drives in it.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Swanzey, New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    1,707
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image

    <hr>I do MY backup to a machine on my home LAN with 4 dedicated hard drives in it.<hr>
    What can I say? <IMG SRC=http://www.the-highway.com/Smileys/Erm.gif> The one time I saved an image to a partition on my HD, the entire process took about 15 minutes. I could speculate and say that the time needed in your case could be due to the transfer rate over your LAN? Someone who is a Network "guru" might be able to help with a diagnosis much better than I can. <img src=/S/wink.gif border=0 alt=wink width=15 height=15>. I seriously doubt the problem lies with True Image as thousands of people are using it and this is the first time that I've heard of this type of complaint. Of course, perhaps there are others who experience the same as you but have never given it much thought as they thought the time taken is "normal"? <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Jeff
    Jeff
    simul iustus et peccator

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image

    I'm sure you're right about the LAN being somewhat of a slowdown, Jeff. I think I'll try a test of backing up FOUR of the partitions onto a local drive IN THIS same machine to see what kind of throughput I get. And by the way, I know that technically my comments come on as a complaint but it's certainly not a show-stopper. The primary points are: does it work without failure and it does; is it easy to use and it sure is that, and in my case I have an interest in being able to get individual files from the archive and it "mounts" those files pretty quickly. Just as another example, the last Drive Image 7 backup I did was on about 9 gig and it took about two hours. So, it's all relative.. Where something like backup is concerned, I never try to use my system while there's a backup in progress, so I generally start the job and leave the house for my volunteer job. If it's SUCCESSFULLY completed when I get home 4 or 5 hours later, why should I complain?

    And hey, thanks for sharing. I think I'll write back to their support with some system specifics and see what they say about "expected" times. Have a nice weekend.....

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image

    Well, that was a pretty easy non-scientific test to conduct, confirming yours and Bob's statements about SPEED! I guess it IS my in-house network but I don't know why. This morning I did a backup of 4 partitions on two drives to a third LOCAL drive. Afterward, I wrote down the absolute byte size of the three files TrueImage creates (as reported by the Properties command within Windows Explorer). Here's the "amazing" data:

    Local destination:
    9,802,345,472 total byte size of three output files
    39 minutes elapsed time
    251,342,191 bytes per minute

    Network destination (yesterday):
    11,569,428,480 total byte size of three output files
    204 minutes elapsed time
    56,712,884 bytes per minute

    Although I have a 10/100 network running with 10/100 NICS in both machines, it's quite possible that it doesn't perform to the highest speed when you add in other factors. By the way, the approximate speeds I remember from Drive Image were in the 80-100 meg/min range (it varied).

    Long Live Acronis TrueImage.....

  10. #10
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image

    Hi Al,

    Just to put my numbers in here, I just Imaged my C: boot drive, about 7 gigs, in about 19 minutes with compression 3. It resulted in an image of just over 2 gigs.
    I think the big difference is that I image to a separate HD instead of a CD. No network involved.

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Acronis True Image

    Since this thread isn't yet too long, I'll not start a new one. I just wanted to let everyone know that Aconis has released Version 7 of the TrueImage software. I see that the upgrade price is $30 but since I just purchased mine, I was lucky and got the upgrade free.

    I just installed but haven't run it yet. I'll do so on my next backup to see if there's any improvement in speed across my LAN. Of note is that it now includes a scheduler as well as incremental backups if one is so inclined. I didn't check yet on the complete list of changes.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image

    I purchased True Image two weeks ago purely on the good things heard from others in The Lounge. Unfortunately it crashed and burned for me and I got a refund. I made an image of a brand new Dell computer and when I went to restore it (purely as a test) on CD #4 out of 5, it reported an error that the image was corrupted. <img src=/S/crybaby.gif border=0 alt=crybaby width=15 height=15>

    I was now left with an unbootable PC and no reason for the corrupted image. I was very mad and contacted Acronis. They sent me a URL to their image validation tool (why isn't it included in their product?). This tool failed too in that it was able to 'see' the image. I gave it both CD #1 and CD #5 (the last CD of the image) but I couldn't get it to read. I was too fed up to spend more time troubleshooting their software. I burned these CDs on high quality HP CD-R and assumed the image was ok since TrueImage didn't say otherwise (especially since they don't include an image integrity checker in the product).

    I then had to spend most of one day restoring the OS, drivers, applications, etc from the multi-CD set that came with this new Dell computer. I now have had bad luck with Dantz Retrospect, Acronis True Image and Symantec Ghost (all failed for one reason or another). I have zero faith in any of these programs since they all failed when you really need them - at system restore. <img src=/S/surrender.gif border=0 alt=surrender width=31 height=23>

    Deb <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23> <img src=/S/hairout.gif border=0 alt=hairout width=31 height=23>

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image

    When I installed Drive Image, I did a full backup followed by a restore, and it worked perfectly for me. I guess the problem is the huge variety of hardware and software configurations making life as difficult for the software vendors as it is for us.

    StuiartR

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger jujuraf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    1,061
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image

    Unfortunately what you say is true, it's not possible for software companies to test all configurations of hardware and software. I'm using new PCs running either Win2k or WinXP with all the updates - so why is this a weird configuration?

    I've also tried Drive Image and it too failed. So now I've tried 5 backup/restore programs and they've all failed in one way or another! <img src=/S/dizzy.gif border=0 alt=dizzy width=15 height=15> At least I was able to get refunds. No one can say I haven't been persistent but after rebuilding several PCs from scratch after these restore images failed, I have to conclude for whatever reason, they don't work for me and I'll return to backing up data the old fashion way. None of my PCs (except for the new Dell I bought for my sister) came with restore CDs hence my search for a way to make my own. Oh, well, it's not meant to be. <img src=/S/shrug.gif border=0 alt=shrug width=39 height=15>

    Deb <img src=/S/disappointed.gif border=0 alt=disappointed width=15 height=15>

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    St Charles, IL
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Acronis True Image

    I too was recently looking for a good image backup software. I really like the features and specs for True Image. I downloaded the trial version, True Image Version 7. I did an install on one of my computers and immediately created the rescue disks, both CD and floppy. As my interest is disaster recovery, I tried a boot with the rescue disks, both CD and floppy. Both crashed during loading. I then tried them on three different machines, HP ze5600 laptop, HP 7850 desktop, and a Sony PCG-505FX. All crashed during booting with the same error message. Note: The "Safe" rescue disks would boot but not the full rescue disks.

    I contacted support and they worked with me to find the cause. They had me change config files and take snapshots of the boot screens. In the end they had to give up. I can't fault their assistance, but I am really puzzled about the problem. My group machines are quite different. The Sony is an old 64MB machine. The ze5600 is brand new with 512MB and has no floppy drive (see the need for CD booting for rescue?) .

    Any suggestions? TI features would make it a great program if only I could do a recovery.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •