Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 60
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    I have 2 accounts in Outlook 2000. I believe it is setup exactly the same on this machine as on my other Windows XPP machine and they both use Outlook 2000 SP-3. On this one after switching between accounts twice Outlook will no longer check for new or send mail without at least logging off and back on. Where should I look to correct this because I know on my other machine I never did and still don't have this problem? I can go back and forth between accounts as often as I wish.

    Thanks.
    H Lewton

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    When you say switching between accounts, what do you mean?

    (1) Send mail from one account, then from the other
    (2) Leave Outlook open and switch among Windows XP users using the same PST
    (3) Close Outlook and open again with a different profile

  3. #3
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    jscher2000,

    No. 3. I close Outlook and open again with a different profile.

    I just tried it again and it won't even allow me to switch between profiles even once now without rebooting. Something strange appears to be happening. I am very confident that I do not have any viruses. Other then that, I have no idea what is causing this because like I said my other machine still works fine when switching profiles. I do run a spam eliminating program, the same one, on each machine. Again, the OS on both machines is XPP.

    Thanks.
    H Lewton

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    How are you switching from one user to another, "log off "or "Switch user"?

    And when you state "Profile" is this a true second profile using a single Windows User log in?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    Dave,

    Outlook works fine when I first reboot or start up from a cold boot. Then all I'm doing is closing down Outlook 2000. When I start it back up it asks me which account I want to use, I only have 2 Outlook accounts. When I choose an account Outlook opens but it will not send or receive. I know it should because I have been doing the same routine since Outlook 97 or 98.

    Thanks.
    H Lewton

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    After closing Outlook do a CAD and open Task Manager. You may see that Outlook is still running. Sometimes it takes a while for Outlook to shut down. You can also at this time select Outlook and then select the "End Proccess" button.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    Dave,

    Thanks but that wasn't it. It had been closed down by itself.

    Thanks again.
    H Lewton

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    339
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    Not sure I completely understand the problem. But have you tried going to Control panel/mail/show profiles and changing the settings..

  9. #9
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    Karen,

    But have you tried going to Control panel/mail/show profiles and changing the settings
    Not sure I understand what you want because the settings or profiles are OK and they work but I can't shutdown Outlook and go to the other profile or maybe to clarify things, userid.

    I have 2 profiles or accounts setup in Outlook, example: JohnS@neo.rr.com and JaneS@neo.rr.com.

    When Outlook starts up I have it set to ask me which "Profile Name" I want to use. I then choose either JohnS@neo.rr.com or JaneS@neo.rr.com. I also have Outlook set to only check for email manually. After opening 1 of the profiles I can manually check that account or profile, whichever you want to call it.

    Then I close out of Outlook, once it is completely shutdown I start Outlook over again and open up the other account or profile, whichever you want to call it, but now I can no longer make Outlook check for new email. It should be capable of switching between these profiles and checking for new email. I have done it for years and now all of a sudden something is wrong that won
    H Lewton

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    339
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    Hi - the purpose of the first post was to see if you were being prompted for the profile when starting outlook.

    Have you tried Right click Outlook on Desktop/Properties
    View or Change existing accounts - Next
    Select the account that is giving you problems - Change

    Check your server and log on information
    Go to more settings and ensure that log-on to incoming mail server is checked

    Worth a try...

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    You're right, this should work fine. I think you would know if Outlook was open in memory because when you re-open it, it would skip past the choose a profile dialog. So if you are getting the dialog, I don't think it is a problem with Outlook shutting down.

    Is the connection method the same for both accounts? E.g., for broadband, "connect using my LAN" on the Connection tab of account settings? I'm not sure this needs to match, but it's one potential variable.

    If you haven't tried to repair Office (have your CD handy), you could try that (in Outlook>Help>Detect and Repair). Close your other Office apps before doing this as it runs the update for the entire suite.

    Account information (meaning ISP account information, not profile information) does sometimes become corrupted, and in those cases, the best approach is to delete the account and re-create it. You can do this either once you have loaded a particular profile in Outlook, or by using the Mail control panel. Obviously it's important to have all the account details captured before deleting it. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    Thanks but that didn't help. Actually both accounts give me a problem. It all depends on which one I open first after a boot up. The other account will be the one that starts the problems.

    I did check all the settings you suggested and compared them the machine that works properly. As you might guess, identical.

    Check your server and log on information
    Go to more settings and ensure that log-on to incoming mail server is checked
    I do not see this option anywhere in the properties of my accounts. Actually the steps you described do not get me where I think you wanted but I did see all the pertinent information, I believe.

    Thanks.
    H Lewton

  13. #13
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    Jscher2000,

    Is the connection method the same for both accounts? E.g., for broadband, "connect using my LAN" on the Connection tab of account settings? Yes it is.

    This is a new machine and I just installed Office 2000 with all its updates. I know that doesn
    H Lewton

  14. #14
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    > Isn

  15. #15
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Canton, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,716
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Accounts (2000 SP-3)

    jscher2000,

    Thanks and I will try all these things but I must ask how do I start Outlook with these switches you refer to? Do I go "Start, Run, and type Outlook.exe /CleanReminders" ?

    I don't seem to have a program called ScanPST.exe. I'll look for it on the Office CD.

    Thanks.
    H Lewton

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •