Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Corrupt 'msinfo32.exe' ? (XP-SP1)

    Upon checking System Tools > System Information, the Help and Support Center popped up on my desktop; Start > Run > msinfo32.exe yielded the same result. The folder "System Volume Information" was conspicuously absent from C:.

    I then visited Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Computer Management and found neither System Information nor System Summary at home.

    After running the System File Checker the folder "System Volume Information" reappeared - empty. Msinfo still points to Help and Support.

    I don't remember having installed something which Windows might have interpreted as offensive, and a search for viruses or trojans came out empty.

    Any idea what's happening and why ? And what can I do to restore the status quo ante ? By the way, System Restore didn't do it.

    Thank you for any idea,
    Oana

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Corrupt 'msinfo32.exe' ? (XP-SP1)

    You might try the .reg file on line 221 (right-hand side) in Kelly's XP Tweaks.

    Something else to try: select Start | Run... and type<pre>msinfo32 /categories +all -loadedmodules</pre>

    then press Enter.

    And perhaps this newsgroup thread is helpful (scroll up to see the start.)

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Corrupt 'msinfo32.exe' ? (XP-SP1)

    Thank you, Hans. Kelly's tweak didn't change anything.
    Your msinfo-string gave me the System Summary in the Help & Support Center window. Something is still rotten in my state.
    I'll go and read now the thread.

    Yesterday I changed the user and company name on the computer. Might that be the cause ?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Corrupt 'msinfo32.exe' ? (XP-SP1)

    > Yesterday I changed the user and company name...

    If you mean username as in the name used to login, is it possible that you did not give the new username Administrator privileges?

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Corrupt 'msinfo32.exe' ? (XP-SP1)

    No, I didn't mean that name. Login is ok and I have as before Administrator rights. I changed the name and company name Windows XP asks for during Setup.
    I found several threads in newsgroups and other fora where people were complaining about the same problem; no one seems to know why it happened and there's still no solution. By the way, digging deeper into the System Tools I observed that even winmsd, the Diagnostics, loads Help & Support. Who, besides the Shadow, knows what other evil lurks in the heart of my seldom used Tools ?

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    La Verne, California, USA
    Posts
    313
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Corrupt 'msinfo32.exe' ? (XP-SP1)

    Oana,

    I found a tip at Doug's website that suggested using GPEDIT.MSC from the run box to solve a problem with the autoplay feature in the CD Rom drive, which I used, and further tinkering led me to the fix that restored MSINFO32.EXE that I had been missing. By enabling the system information feature it came back. Once you have GPEDIT.MSC up, go to User Configuration>System Templates>Microsfoft Management Console>Restricted/Permitted Snap-ins. Look in the right pane and scroll down on the standard tab to System Information. Mine showed it as being not configured so I double-clicked it and made it enabled. It now works.
    (Doug is a Windows XP MVP and there is a link to his site from Micrsoft.)

    HTH!

    Preston

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Corrupt 'msinfo32.exe' ? (XP-SP1)

    Preston,

    thank you very much for the tip, but my XP is a home edition so gpedit isn't available.
    Anyway, I got System Information functioning.

    I had to stop Help Services, remove the folder PACKAGESTORE from PCHEALTHHELPCTR and start Help Services again. Then, on second thought, I disabled them because they are never used.

    I found the solution on a German site but if anyone has this problem or is just interested I'll be happy to translate the exact instructions.

    Oana

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Corrupt 'msinfo32.exe' ? (XP-SP1)

    Oana--

    Thanks for the info from the German site. When you say system restore didn't do it, you seem to have been awfully thorough, but could you have tried enough restore points? I know it gets old to see it not working after a while and somewhat time consuming if a restore point is corrupt. Also there was a fix that is sort of obscure as to its publicity that MS did with SP1 (I don't know if you have SP1 on your XP Home but from the sound of things I'm betting you do.) See:

    System Restore for Windows XP: Highlights of System Restore fixes included in SP1 Anshul Rawat, MS System Restore, Windows XP

    This Lounge thread seems related to your fix:

    msinfo32.exe (XPPSP1) May 1, 2003

    323209: Msinfo32.exe Generates a "Can't Collect Information" Error Message

    SMBP

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Corrupt 'msinfo32.exe' ? (XP-SP1)

    SMBP, the day has come when I'm awfully thankful for your thoroughness.

    Yes, I have SP1 installed and yes, I suffered yesterday through a lot of restore points to no avail. My System Restore seems OK up to now, anyway it's good to have the link you sent if only for information. I never have the time to browse when I go to Kelly's corner because I always have a question or a search term in my mind, but I'll do it eventually.

    The link to the thread started by Bruce was very useful. Obviously Spider (which I use) deletes the index.dat stored in pchealthhelpctrofflinecache. I renamed the file index.da_ and msinfo loaded again Help&Support. I renamed it back and msinfo worked correctly, loading System Information.

    It seems to me that the instructions from the German page I followed did the same thing, only in a more tortuous manner.

    Well, thank you very much for helping me to understand what happened, which to me is more important than repairing.

    Oana <img src=/S/rose.gif border=0 alt=rose width=15 height=15>

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Corrupt 'msinfo32.exe' ? (XP-SP1)

    I sensed that about the German page but unfortunately I have little other language skills. I use Kelly's A to Z a lot because she's got a tremendous amount of info, hyperlinks, and some discussions by other good people--they won't be there if they aren't. I also keep a headsup for her tweaks VB scripts and 3 click regedits, because she builds that list every week. She's up to about 600 plus of them today. Also I notice on newsgroups that if there is a problem not covered on her site that she can link to, she's often quick to whip out a run box command for a specific problem and they've helped me--they have a high percentage of efficacy from her and I wish there were a comprehensive master list of those commands some where. They're in some people's heads or repetoire, hers included.

    I used to think that restore points were awfully fragile. I do think people don't try enough of them at times. We're all somewhat impatient and it's no fun to sit their trying after you've been turned down by 3 or so of them. Now I know what's in that MS SR engineer's discussion, and I suspect that he would tell me that a good percentage of failed SR's are because the points get corrupted by shutdowns that are crashes--not a lot you can do when one is in progress--I can avert a number by opening a new instance of Windows Explorer--or shutdowns that aren't perfectly clean with every window and program closed. Could for example a shutdown with a couple sites minimized you didn't close corrupt? Probably.

    Thanks and thanks for the followup--it often helps you know if you're on the right track.

    SMBP

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •