Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Upgrading IE to 6 sp1 (IE 5.50)

    I have tried to upgrade my IE 5.5 to 6 sp1 via the online upgrade to no avail. I have a 60 gig hard drive with 30 gig free. So space is not the problem. I have gone through the online upgrade more times than I like to count. I even bought the disk from MS thinking I could force the system to upgrade. Again... no luck. The system starts to install... gets to 3% and then jumps to 89% and then tells me that it did not install IE, Outlook Express, and Browser features. I have tried both the automatic and the manual (custom) install. Any thoughts / ideas how to get IE6 installed?

    Thanx

    Dennis

    <img src=/S/gramps.gif border=0 alt=gramps width=20 height=20>

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrading IE to 6 sp1 (IE 5.50)

    Just to get some of the facts clear: is your 5.5 patched - or is it a "shrink-wrapped" version?
    Gre

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrading IE to 6 sp1 (IE 5.50)

    Dennis--

    What OS is in this combination? Have you tried without a firewall up and with your AV off? You shouldn't have to but it might help. Have you also tried in Safe Mode?

    SMBP

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrading IE to 6 sp1 (IE 5.50)

    I'm flying so blind without knowing your OS. I've lobbied for months to get a slot in the IE forum for the OS but to no avail and it prevents problems from getting solved sometimes. There are fixes for this specific to the operating system and KB articles as well specific to the operating system.

    One solution I found in the NG archives for this was: Download the whole package and place it in a safe folder on your disk drive. Then install if from there. It might be necessary to remove any copy of Microsoft Internet Explorer showing in Add/Remove Programs. If all else fails, get a copy of IEradicator and kill all versions of IE from your system and then install the package.


    IE Eradicator for Win 9X and Win 2K through SP1

    Or if your OS happens to be XP you might try from Kelly's Site:

    318378: How to Reinstall or Repair Internet Explorer and Outlook Express in Windows XP

    Additionally you might also try from Kelly's site:

    Tip: Re-install Internet Explorer - Go to Start/Run, and type : rundll32.exe setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 132
    %windir%infie.inf. Or: Run Command -
    Kelly's Tweaks Line 14

    Once running this edit, rename the CatRoot2 folder and then run the ie.inf. Or use this run command:
    Go to Start/Run, and type: rundll32.exe setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 132 %windir%infie.inf

    Also from Kelly's XP:

    IE - Reinstall Internet Explorer

    Re-install IE - Go to Start/Run, and type: rundll32.exe setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 132 %windir%infie.inf

    To work around this issue and reinstall the same customized Internet Explorer 6 installation package a second time, change the IsInstalled (REG_DWORD) value for the Branding component from 1 to 0 in the following registry key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESoftwareMicrosoftActive SetupInstalled Components. The Branding key always begins with a greater than (>) character. Or... Go to: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downlo...ie6/default.asp

    In the download box, select your desired language and click Go. On the next page click the Internet Explorer 6 link under Download. Save the file to your hard drive and note where you saved it to:

    When the download is complete, click Start, Run, Browse, and browse to the location you saved the file to. Highlight the IE6SETUP.EXE file and click Open.

    In the Run dialog, move the cursor to the end of the command and press the space bar. Copy and past the following into the Run dialog at the end of the current command: /c:"ie6wzd.exe /d /s:""#E"""

    The #E needs to be replaced by the full path and file name of the IE Setup file. An example command line would look like this: "C:Tempie6setup.exe" /c:"ie6wzd.exe /d /s:""C:Tempie6setup.exe"""

    Replace C:Temp in this example with the actual path to the ie6setup.exe file. All parameters must be in the line and all of the quote characters must be as shown.

    SMBP

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrading IE to 6 sp1 (IE 5.50)

    Not sure how to tell... I am pretty sure that I have upgraded it a few times... when doing Help, About... it shows 5.50.4134.0100. IE came with the machine (Dell Dimension 4100). Currently running WinME.

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrading IE to 6 sp1 (IE 5.50)

    SMBP...

    Thanx for the reply. OS is WinME. No, did not turn the firewall off but did turn off AV (Norton). Have not tried Safe mode.

    Dennis

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrading IE to 6 sp1 (IE 5.50)

    Dennis--

    This helps. There are a number of Win ME and IE 6 install glitch threads. Some say to turn off the AV--with ME it was not infrequent that AV interferred with installs. TuCows warns about it on their IE downloads--but for reasons that are not clear there.

    Trouble Downloading IE6.0 into Me Platform

    IE6SP1 Installation Prolbems Win ME Forum Annoyances.org

    IE6 SP1 Download

    Win ME Tips

    SMBP

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    108
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Upgrading IE to 6 sp1 (IE 5.50)

    SMBP and others...

    Thanx so much for all of your help. I ran the IExtractor and it did the job beautifully but created a problem with Norton. So I had to manually remove Norton... then install IE6 sp1 and then re-install Norton. All is fine now. Been 3 hours of football and puter.

    Dennis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •