Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Prompt to run script (IE6.0.2600)

    I have placed http://www.wordforums.com/ in my trusted security zone where I have active scripting enabled for that zone. However, I still get a "Scripts are usually safe. Do you want to allow scripts to run?" prompt as soon as I navigate to the site. If I change my option in the Internet zone to enable (from prompt), the prompt goes away. Anyone know why I would get a prompt after placing the site in my trusted zone?
    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Prompt to run script (IE6.0.2600)

    Could it be this bit?

    <script type="text/javascript"
    src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js">
    </script>

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Prompt to run script (IE6.0.2600)

    Hi Jefferson:
    I don't know. How did you figure that out? Does this mean that there are ads on the page that run in the Internet zone?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Prompt to run script (IE6.0.2600)

    When I loaded the page, I skimmed through looking for different-domain content. The "trust" extends only to the listed domain; often IE will list "Mixed" or "Unknown" on the status bar when it finds content from other domains (e.g., ads pulled in from other sites). Just a guess!

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Prompt to run script (IE6.0.2600)

    Thanks for this. I'm going to see about developing an option to put on a context menu for prompting & not prompting (or disabling) scripts so I can change it for various sites. R2 posted a method for doing so for Accessibility colors one time, so it's time I try it out.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Prompt to run script (IE6.0.2600)

    Ah... you will run into one very annoying road block. This project has been on my back burner for months (years??) -- but I cannot find a solution.

    You see, there is this unkown (to me) command that must be issued for IE to immediately "accept" the zone changes in the registry. It is not "broadcasting" the "settings have changed" message that works for the Colors and Fonts. There is SOME OTHER command -- and no one yet can tell me what it is.

    While I can code this to where it *should* work perfectly, it still fails because you have to close and re-open IE for it to take effect. I will be happy to give you what I have done on this project so far -- and I would be ecstatic if you figure it out!!

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Los Angeles Area, California, USA
    Posts
    7,453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Prompt to run script (IE6.0.2600)

    Hi R2:
    Well, if you haven't figured it out, I doubt that I will. But I am able to change the setting immediately by using the graphical interface. i.e. if I go to Tools/Internet Options/Security tab/Internet zone/Custom level/ scroll to Scripting/Active scripting, I can change from prompt to enable & have it take effect immediately. Are you saying that you can't do that with an item on a context menu? <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Long Beach, California, USA
    Posts
    1,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Prompt to run script (IE6.0.2600)

    Here are the basic .exe files to separately Toggle ActiveX and Scripting in the Internet zone. Works great -- try it and check out the radio buttons under Tools | Internet Options | Security | Internet zone | Custom. Everything looks like it is working perfectly. One problem. It is not.

    OK, why?? Well, for some reason IE does not know that you made these modifications. The instance of IE loaded in to RAM simply does not recognize your changes. Simple answer -- just TELL IE that you made the changes!!

    OK, done. At the end of the registry modifications I have include code that "Broadcasts" to all programs that the registry setting have changed. This, in theory, TELLS IE that it should reload the registry settings. And this also works great -- for the Font size and Colors -- but NOT for the Zone settings!! Don't ask me why...

    Here is the information on the "Settings Change" Broadcast message that I am using:WM_SETTINGCHANGE.

    "The system sends the WM_SETTINGCHANGE message to all top-level windows when the SystemParametersInfo function changes a system-wide setting or when policy settings have changed.

    Applications should send WM_SETTINGCHANGE to all top-level windows when they make changes to system parameters. (This message cannot be sent directly to a window.) To send the WM_SETTINGCHANGE message to all top-level windows, use the SendMessageTimeout function with the hwnd parameter set to HWND_BROADCAST."
    _____________

    So, this is either the wrong message to broadcast, or I (and several others) cannot figure out how to make it work in this instance.

    The likely solution is to use Spy++ and try to see what command IE issues when you click that OK button after you make the zone changes. I tried this once, but never figured it out... yet.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •