3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Please help with this concept: A document database (n/a)

I only dabble with Access on occasion. As most of my help has come from here, I return to the well yet again, only this time with a conceptual question: Is Access good for creating a database of documents and graphics?

The Story: I am an instructional designer. I create courses on various subjects (usually customized business software), but most of my time is devoted to writing concepts and procedures. I tend to do the same concepts time and again. My colleagues also have to write out the same concepts. One would think cutting and pasting would be running rampant around here, and to some extent, it's true. However, I'm determined that there is a better way to do this. Could the information we use time and again, be stored in a database so that we can call it up as needed. In fact, we could, theoretically, use Word or an HTML editor to read the material out of the database to create standard documents. The concept is straight forward, but does anyone have any experience attempting such a project? I'm particularly interested as to where the pitfalls may lie and if there are other approaches I should consider first.

Thanks (and I look forward to seeing your thoughts)!
    Louis

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Please help with this concept: A document database (n/a)

Access is not very good when it comes to storing formatted text and graphics. Since you will probably create the documentation in Word, it is probably a better idea to store them as AutoText entries in a Word template. The users can then insert these entries where they need them. You could create a user-friendly interface with a UserForm, but perhaps that is not even necessary.

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

The wording could be stored in a database, but you would be better off only retrieving the wording through a merge and using Word styles to apply formatting.
    Charlotte

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks