Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Does NAV 2004 play nice with backup software?

    Currently, I am using NAV 2003, but was thinking of installing NAV 2004.

    Page 57 of the 30 December 2003 issue of PC magazine has a communication that states:

    "... it is impossible to perform a proper backup while any of the current
    Norton 2004 products are installed. Symantec's technical support suggested
    uninstalling its products before each backup and reinstalling them after the
    backup is completed."

    Such a problem is so outlandish, I do not know whether to believe the
    statement.

    Can any of you confirm this problem with NAV 2004?

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Does NAV 2004 play nice with backup software?

    Howard,

    it seems I read something similar to that although I can't remember just where. So. I am staying with 2003 AV. I don't see any compelling reason to go to 2004 anyway.
    Just keep the virus definitions up to date on 2003 and be happy! <img src=/S/angel.gif border=0 alt=angel width=15 height=21>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    629
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Does NAV 2004 play nice with backup software?

    Try disabling auto-protect before backup ?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Does NAV 2004 play nice with backup software?

    Just maybe you can get around this problem by buying Symantec Ghost? <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Does NAV 2004 play nice with backup software?

    I don't believe in ghost(ing).

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    New Hampshire, USA
    Posts
    3,386
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Does NAV 2004 play nice with backup software?

    Is that what you do with NAV 2004 and find no problems?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Does NAV 2004 play nice with backup software?

    Not my point. <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Does NAV 2004 play nice with backup software?

    How do you do your back ups? It may be a problem with your back up program.


    I use NAV 2004 and the Creator Classic 6.0 to copy my data to CD or DVD.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •