Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Should I Detect and Repair? (2000 SR3)

    Further to a query I raised a few days ago about creating PDFs, I had previously used docauto's MakePDF, but couldn't get it to do what I wanted. Their tech support suggested it was because I had an old version and I paid to upgrade to the latest version, version 5. I have installed that, and now every time I try to click an item on the MakePDF toolbar, Word crashes. I get a message that Winword has performed an illegal operation and will be shut down. docauto's tech support says they have tried it with my set up (Windows 98 and Word 2000) and it works fine for them. They first asked if I had all the MS security etc. packs, which I do, then suggested there may be files that are missing or corrupt from my Windows or Word installation. I'm wondering what will happen if I run Detect and Repair in Word. Does that still work now that I have downloaded and installed the various service packs. (The installation CDs I have are the original OEM edition.) Or does anyone have any other suggestions to make?

    Ian

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Should I Detect and Repair? (2000 SR3)

    > I'm wondering what will happen if I run Detect and Repair in Word. Does that still work now that I have
    > downloaded and installed the various service packs. (The installation CDs I have are the original OEM edition.)

    The Windows Installer is supposed to cache the SP updates in a hidden folder for exactly this purpose. When you repair, or install a feature you didn't originally install, it merges the SP's into the original code automagically. But certainly there is no guarantee, so make some backups. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>

    As for other suggestions, fully uninstalling the third party product and scrubbing out its Registry entries and then reinstalling it would be another thing to try. (If you didn't do that as part of the update.)

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger IanWilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,523
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Should I Detect and Repair? (2000 SR3)

    OK - I'll try Detect and Repair.

    I did fully uninstall the previous version as part of the update, and I have tried removing and reinstalling the new version.

    Ian

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Should I Detect and Repair? (2000 SR3)

    One other thing. It's possible that the old toolbar lingered and the new version failed to replace it. See if you can kill the toolbar in some manner so that it gets re-created by the new version. Because toolbars can linger in Normal.dot and other places, this could take a bit of doing. As a test, rename Normal.dot and start Word in a more vanilla mode to see if that helps get the newer toolbar set up.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •