Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Adobe Won't Load (2002 SP1)

    OK, here's a weird one.

    I am trying to load an application that requires Adobe's Acrobat Reader to work. The install hangs after telling me I need to install Acrobat 4.05 (I had 6.0 already installed). Tech support tells me that their application requires an older version of Acrobat, either 4.05 or 5.0. OK, I uninstall 6.0 and try installing 4.05 off of the CD the other application is on. It appears to "unpack" but then everything stops - no activity.

    I search the web for a version of 5.0 I can download. Eventually I find one, but same thing - it unpacks and then all shuts down. I tried closing my virus checker, but it made no difference. I'm stuck and wonder if any of you might have an idea why acrobat won't run.

    TIA, Douglas

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Won't Load (2002 SP1)

    Do you have administrative rights to the computer? That's sounds exactly like what happens when I try to install something that wants admin rights (it usually doesn't give an error).

    Becky

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Won't Load (2002 SP1)

    Hi Becky,

    Well, I had admin rights when I set things up, but I suppose my kids (who aren't supposed to have them - or my wife who does) could have switched me off as a joke. I'll check and make sure when I get home.

    Douglas

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Won't Load (2002 SP1)

    I don't have any ideas as to what may be stalling it (yet), but often application install routines spawn a secondary setup process. Can you end the Adobe setup task and force the application's installation to complete? I gather that you now have Reader uninstalled and cannot get it going again. You've already gotten the suggestion to check your account privileges, so do that first.

    Make sure that your TEMP drive has enough free space. Delete all your TEMP files by clicking Start - Run and entering %temp% in the resulting box. Press CTRL+A to select all of the files in the folder that opens, and then delete them. Some may be in use; if Windows complains, delete as many as you can and empty the Recycle Bin.

    Lastly, make sure you check Adobe's support section to see if any of the information there will help.
    -Mark

  5. #5
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cheadle, Staffordshire
    Posts
    2,177
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Won't Load (2002 SP1)

    I have a copy of Version 4.0 Reader if that helps.
    If you want it, send a private mail and with your E.Mail and I'll send it over.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    New York, New York, USA
    Posts
    2,328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Adobe Won't Load (2002 SP1)

    First, many programs push you to install older versions of Acrobat Reader for opening its PDF files - if you have Acrobat 6.0 already installed, simply ignore that prompt.

    Second, if you have your Adobe Acrobat 5.0 Installation CD, you also have Adobe Acrobat Reader 5.0 Installation files on it. Insert Adobe Acrobat CD, open folder Acroread, then Installers folder and run Setup.exe.
    Note: to open PDF files in Adobe Reader when Adobe Acrobat is installed, you must change file association manually.

    Third, when you install a new program on your Windows XP computer, do it from Start | Control Panel | Add or Remove Programs | Add new programs | CD or Floppy | Browse, rather than from Windows Explorer or installation CD Autorun.

    Good luck!

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Won't Load (2002 SP1)

    All,

    Thanks for the helpful suggestions. I'll try them when I get home this afternoon. I have been poking around in the Adobe help files and user forums. It appears that others have had similar problems with the Reader files unpacking and then the whole install routine simply drops out of sight and disappears. In some cases, temp files seem to be related, so I will check that. I have plenty of disk and plenty of memory. If I could short cut the whole adobe upgrade (er, downgrade I mean) I would, but the program that I am trying to install checks for Acrobat Reader and will not budge from that point. It says that it does not detect AR 4.05 and that I will have to install it from CD (which is in the drive). When I click OK (the only option offered), it promptly hangs. When I try to install 4.05 from the CD directly, it unpacks and disappears. Tech support at Bentley Publishing has been nice, but unable to help with the Adobe problem. I guess I'll have to figure this one out on my own. I wonder if there are some registry entries that did not get uninstalled with 6.0 that are gumming the works? Oh well. If it weren't for this, I'd probably be drinking too much beer.

    Douglas

  8. #8
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Won't Load (2002 SP1)

    Douglas....just for grins and giggles, once you determine the source of the problem, you could let the installer load Adobe 4, and then upgrade it to 6. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15> I see no reason why it shouldn't work. The installer was probably (stupidly) hard coded to check for that version but any later one should work as well. Then again...if you get it done, you may not have a compelling reason to upgrade Acrobat either!
    -Mark

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Duluth, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    215
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Won't Load (2002 SP1)

    Hi Everyone.

    To close the loop, I thought I would let you know how this came out. I finally succeeded due to some clues found on the Adobe Acrobat Reader Users Forum. The process that worked went something like this:

    1) Click Start>Run, enter %temp%, and execute.
    2) Delete all files on the resulting list (this came to ~300MB of files, most related to aborted Adobe installs).
    3) Delete all Adobe install executables on drive (I had 3 different ones).
    4) Clear Wastebasket.
    5) Download Adobe Reader executable from web (I selected V 5.05).
    6) Reboot into safe mode
    7) Run executable (it completed - yea!).
    8) Reboot into normal mode and install original program (remember that one?).

    Too complex for the everyday roiutine, but all is well now (until the next time). Thanks again for all your thoughts.

    Douglas

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •