Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    255
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Image Haze (V2000)

    I have 4 images on a form that I populate with code similar to the following:
    Me.image1.Picture = C:Picture.jpg
    When running it from my local PC, the pictures look great. However, I have some users that access it via terminal services. When they pull up the picture, the format is off, the colors are mostly gray with dark hues. Does anyone know what might cause this? The image is formatted as follows:
    Picture Type: Embedded
    Size Mode: Zoom
    Picture Alignment: Center
    Picture Tiling: No
    Any thoughts on how to resolve ?
    Thanks,
    Dashiell

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    Screen set to 256 colors? Mediocre video card?

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    At least one potential issue is the settings on your Terminal Server. If it's running 256 colors or something like that, things will not work well. Try working directly on the Terminal Server and see what things look like that way. There may well additional settings on the Server that control what the remote user sees - I'm not an expert in its configuration but have used it successfully and not seen issues with images or the like.
    Wendell

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    255
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    You and Hans both inquired about the 256 color setting so I will start there. I changed my settings from High Color (16 bit) to 256 colors and I could recreate the poor resolution so I bet that is it. I will have the person who runs the Terminal Services check his settings. Thanks to both of you!!
    On a side note, do you set your display to High Color (16 bit) or True Color (32 bit)?

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    If possible, set your display to True Color.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    I'm with Hans - I run dual monitors at 1200x1024 32-bit (True Color), though if you go to ultra-high resolution (1600x1200), some video cards won't support it.
    Wendell

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    255
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    I never looked at that setting before. I changed it to True Color...Thanks Hans and Wendell!

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    255
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    Hi Wendell,
    They state their version of Terminal Services has a max setting of 256 colors. They are looking into an upgrade.
    My questions is why when I open Microsoft Photo Editor the photo appears fine under a 256 color setting but looks poor in the Access form? Also, is there another image control that might work? I searched but could not find any.
    As always...Thanks!!
    Andrew

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,624
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    I don't know of any other image control for Access - you could look at ActiveX controls, but that introduces lots of other complications. Sorry.
    Wendell

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    16,775
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    There is no way to make a true-color graphic look good at 256. The rule of thumb is to program to the lowest supportable setting. If you have to support 256 color, then you're going to have to consider simpler graphics that will look decent in both. We actually have dual graphics in our applications and we test for the color density of the monitor to determine which ones to display. The shading and gradations on the hi-color images look horrible in 256-color, so we have much simpler, no shading, graphics we use in that situation.
    Charlotte

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    255
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    Hi Charlotte,
    I am working with a crew that is not as helpful as I would like. As a result, I am testing a few solutions to the image clarity. I am trying a Microsoft Web Browser ActiveX control. My problem is how do I direct the control to display C:MyPhoto.jpg?
    Thank You!

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    Since the Web Browser control is not a native Access control, IntelliSense won't present specific properties and methods, only general ones. You can look up WebBrowser in the Object Browser (F2). The Navigate method opens a file or web page in the control:

    Me.WebBrowser0.Navigate "C:MyPhoto.jpg"

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
    Posts
    255
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    Thanks Hans,
    The Web Browser Control displays the picture clear enough in Terminal Services to allow me to proceed with the project. Thanks for the help...I couldn't find info on this control anywhere.
    Do you have a source of information on this control? I now need to get the image to appear fully in the control (currently I need to scroll to see the entire image).
    Thanks again,
    Dashiell

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Image Haze (V2000)

    The MSDN reference material for the webbrowser control can be found here.

    I don't know how to resize an image in the webbrowser control, it is not an image control after all. But perhaps somebody else has a suggestion.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •