Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Wireless range in an old house

    I'm trying to set up a wireless network in my 250 year-old cottage which has walls around 15"/38cm thick and made of cob.**

    The problem is, is that this seems to stop the wireless signal dead in its tracks - it literally goes from full strength to nothing when the ADSL modem/router is moved through a doorway.

    Has anyone any experience with this? - or should I be looking at checking the individual wireless components in a different environment?
    (Netgear DG834G and MA311)

    (**Webster's Dictionary defines cob as a mixture that consists of unburned clay usually with straw as a binder that is used to build walls.)

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2,391
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wireless range in an old house

    My house isn't as old as yours, but I too have signal strength problems, moving about "too much" inside the house.

    Now, if I sit outside with my laptop on the porch, I get better signal than if I'm in bed with the laptop on my lap.
    Christopher Baldrey

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Wireless range in an old house

    What's your roof made of? Only half-kidding: in offices, wireless access points often are located inside the false ceiling, where they generate the right shape of signal to reach their maximum distance. If you have an attic, perhaps it would work for you, too.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Wireless range in an old house

    Leif

    Jefferson has a good point, but it would involve you in extra expense, since you would have to buy an additional WAP. Obviously your Customer Appearance Point is fixed, and similarly the ADSL modem/router, but a WAP could be moved around. But there's no guarantee you could find an appropriate location, of course...

    Personally I would ring up the firm from which you bought the equipment or ring/email the techies at netgear.co.uk ... but you will already have done/thought of this already.

    You didn't like my other suggestion of boring a wide hole throught the walls to give you "line of sight", I see! <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wireless range in an old house

    I'm awaiting a reply from Netgear, but my initial view on relocating any of the equipment sort of defeats the purpose. I'm more inclined to run an outside cable round from the front to the back of the house. At least it will cut down on all these brain-frying radio waves... <img src=/S/newbrain.gif border=0 alt=newbrain width=21 height=22>

    And boring a line-of-sight hole through *my* walls could be another whole can of worms. Literally <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Wireless range in an old house

    <hr>And boring a line-of-sight hole through *my* walls could be another whole can of worms. Literally<hr>
    <img src=/S/brickwall.gif border=0 alt=brickwall width=25 height=15>? You didn't read the instructions! First you empty the worms (or is it sardines?!) out of both cans, bore a hole in the bottom of each and attach the string between the two. It's analogue, but, hey, so is most of the known universe!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wireless range in an old house

    Do I need to do use Cat5 string, or will ordinary co-ax do as it's analogue?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Wireless range in an old house

    Cat6 will work also <img src=/S/evilgrin.gif border=0 alt=evilgrin width=15 height=15>

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  9. #9
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Wireless range in an old house

    Cat-gut also works...
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Wireless range in an old house

    I had a feline you would bring that one in.

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Quedgeley, Gloucester, England
    Posts
    5,333
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Wireless range in an old house

    Yep! Yours was the one we used...!
    <font face="Script MT Bold"><font color=blue><big><big>John</big></big></font color=blue></font face=script>

    Ita, esto, quidcumque...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •