Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Help....System Lock-Ups (XP Home)

    I just bought a new Dell Dimension 2400 with 2.2 Celeron. I have contacted Dell Tech Support, and they have been unable to resolve the issue, and my Dad is a firm believer in the power of the people on this board, so I figured I would give it a shot. My system is slower than a turtle taking a poo...and I just replaced an older Dimension system which seemed to run much smoother and faster. If I open more thn 2 IE windows, after about 5 min. they all lock up and I need to manually close. Also, offline apps run extremely slow, and take forever to open/close. My RAM usage seems to be awfully high...I have 128MB onboard, and right now, my free RAM is at 55MB with only 2 IE windows open, and nothing else running. Dell Tech Support had me close down all the non-essential programs that boot in start-up....including McAfee AV software...this has not seemed to help the problem. Any help is appreciated, as I am going crazy and about to hurl this seemingly overpriced paperweight to the street below. Thanks, and Merry Xmas!

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Help....System Lock-Ups (XP Home)

    Ho, ho ho. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Are you fully patched and service-packed?
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Help....System Lock-Ups (XP Home)

    Also, 128Mb is the bare bones minimum for WinXP. If you want to run with comfort, boost yourself up to 512Mb - more if you have the Christmas <img src=/S/money.gif border=0 alt=money width=17 height=15>. IMHO marketing a WinXP system with only 128Mb is like trying to sell you a car without quoting the "on the road" price.
    Gre

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger viking33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    6,308
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Help....System Lock-Ups (XP Home)

    Only 128 mb RAM is the MINIMUM to run XP properly. My bet is on the lack of RAM. Check your manual ( hopefully Dell gave you one ) and see if you have spare slots for system RAM and upgrade it as much as you can afford.

    Check RAM suppliers like Crucial.com for the proper type for your system and get it there not from Dell unless you want to pay through the nose for it. Crucial has a site to do the RAM check for you at : SPEED <img src=/S/clapping.gif border=0 alt=clapping width=19 height=23>

    Bob
    BOB
    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/flags/USA.gif http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/S/f...sachusetts.gif


    Long ago, there was a time when men cursed and beat on the ground with sticks. It was called witchcraft.
    Today it is called golf!

  5. #5
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Help....System Lock-Ups (XP Home)

    I cannot agree more with the recommendation to get more RAM, as soon as you can. Beg, borrow, but do not steal - do what you must to get at least 256MB, preferably 512. Regardless of whatever Microsoft marketing banter you read, 128MB is not enough. Consider this: fully loaded, with no running applications, Windows XP requires between 100-128 MB of RAM just for the operating system itself. Load an application or two, and the system starts swapping physical RAM to disk, resulting in a huge resource drain.

    For what it's worth, I run my primary desktop PC with 1 gigabyte of Crucial RAM. For some, that may be overkill, but I do a lot of resource intensive development work along with digital audio and video editing, so that much is, erm, Crucial. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>

    Bob mentioned Crucial, and I fully endorse them. Their prices are as low as they come, their products of the highest quality, and their customer service is so incredible that other companies could only wish to be so good. Their memory is fully guaranteed to work with your system when you use their Memory Selection Tool. If you ever have problems, they will exchange the memory with nary a peep of argument.

    Oh, would you be so kind as to tell Dell's technical support where they can come for good advice? <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15> <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  6. #6
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Help....System Lock-Ups (XP Home)

    <hr> I run my primary desktop PC with 1 gigabyte of Crucial RAM. For some, that may be overkill<hr>

    I am a firm believer after all the system I have built and repaired, that you can never have to much Quality Ram with WinXP.
    WinXP loves Ram like a kid loves Candy. Lots of Ram keeps the system more stable and less strained. The quickest Performance boost you can get is with more QUALITY Ram and a good Video card.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Help....System Lock-Ups (XP Home)

    Make sure you are not accepting any instructions from other computers on the Internet. Windows XP comes with its own firewall (Internet Connection Firewall, or ICF), and there are third party products available for download. Of course, these will chew up more memory, but you want to make sure your computer isn't so busy servicing the requests of others that it doesn't have time for you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •