Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston suburb (Acton), Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (2003)

    I have Office 11 and Adobe Acrobat 6 Pro. Occasionally I want to turn a document into a pdf file.

    But every every every time I sneeze the Adobe Acrobat toolbar has reappeared in Word. They appear on every new document and email I create or edit. If I unclick the Acrobat toolbar they go away - until I sneeze, or some other event I have not been able to figure out (maybe it's just two minutes elapsing or something).

    I customize my Office Tools bars heavily - I want over 50 buttons + the menu on 2 rows (unless I turn on Drawing) - Adobe swiping several inches of toolbar consistently bumps me up to 3 rows.

    Please help me (I live in a shack that only has running water when it rains, my computer is made out of discarded Pepsi cans, my Dad/Wife/Son/Daughter/Strangers/Husband beat me)

    --------------------------
    THIS ISN'T A WORD PROBLEM - TALK TO ADOBE PEOPLE!

    I don't know a GREAT forum of Adobe experts. The WOPR Lounge is fantastic. So blast me away with your brilliance (like always). There's only been one time I stumped you all and had to figure it out for myself (that was in FrontPage, not the strong suit in Office).

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (2003)

    Try the following:
    1. <LI>Select Tools | Customize...
      <LI>Note the exact name of the Adobe toolbar in the Toolbars tab.
      <LI>Close the Customize dialog.
      <LI>Switch to the Visual Basic Editor (Alt+F11)
      <LI>Activate the Immediate window (Ctrl+G)
      <LI>Type

      Application.CommandBars("AdobeToolbarName").Enable d = False

      where AdobeToolbarName is the name you noted in step 2. Then press Enter.
      <LI>Exit the Visual Basic Editor (Alt+F4)
    Hopefully this kills the Adobe toolbar for longer than it takes to sneeze. This method works for me in Word 2002 for the Web toolbar, but not for the Reviewing toolbar, which even silver stakes and garlic cannot keep away.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (2003)

    It certainly disables it until you exit from Word and restart.

    Even adding <font color=blue><font face="Georgia"> Application.CommandBars("PDFMaker 6.0").Enabled = False </font face=georgia></font color=blue> to an AutoOpen procedure in Normal.Dot does not work permanently, presumably the PDFMaker Macro runs after Normal.Dot has been opened.

    It may be just as easy to use Tools > Templates and Add-Ins to clear the check box for PDFMaker.Dot which gets rid of the Adobe toolbar and menus, you can always check it again when you want to create a PDF file.

    StuartR

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Wetherby, Yorkshire, England
    Posts
    283
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (2003)

    I think if you go into your Word Startup folder (usually ..userApplication DataMicrosoftWord) you'll see that Adobe has sneaked it in there. Delete it and it bothers you no further.
    Merry Christmas
    Peter

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (2003)

    > Delete it and it bothers you no further.

    But then you can't use it to create PDF files with all the hyperlinks, table of contents etc.

    StuartR

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Boston suburb (Acton), Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (RESOLVED)

    I did the VBA exercise Hans suggested. It worked. Until I rebooted. I didn't find anything odd in the directory suggested by Peter. But I thank you both.

    I didn't see Stuart's posts - that will teach me that I shouldn't rely on email for notifications! I think Stuart's suggestions would have worked if I hadn't just modified some directories.

    After searching for numerous possible files with "pdf" in the name,
    I found a log indicating that Acrobat had run routines or programs called SetupWord, SetupExcel, etc.
    But the relevant finds were PDFMaker.xla and PDFMaker.dot files located in:

    Program Files Office XLStartup
    Program Files Office Startup
    Documents and Settings Administrator Application Data Microsoft Excel XLStart
    Documents and Settings user-name--- Application Data Microsoft Excel XLStart

    I actually copied the folders so I could easily restore them if I ever find the need.

    Thank you all.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (RESOLVED)

    The most effective method I have found is to Move the file PDFMAKER.DOT from it's default location at C:Program FilesMicrosoft OfficeOffice10Startup to a personal folder under My Documents. Then use Word's Toools > Templates and Add Ins... menu to Add... the template back in from its new location, finally clear the check box to prevent it from loading when word is started.

    The effect of this is that I can easily use the PDFMaker macro by going to Tools > Templates and Add Ins... and checking the box next to PDFMaker, but that it doesn't bother me when I don't want to use it.

    StuartR

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Stuttgart, Baden-W, Germany
    Posts
    931
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (RESOLVED)

    I haven't checked with Word2002/2003, or with the newest version of PDFMaker.dot.

    In Word2000, the following AutoExec macro in Normal.dot removed the offending toolbar.
    The drawback of this "solution" is that Word takes 3 seconds longer to fully start.
    <pre>Sub AutoExec()
    Application.OnTime _
    When:=Now + TimeValue("00:00:03"), _
    Name:="ZapEm"
    End Sub
    '
    Sub ZapEm()
    Dim i As Long

    For i = 1 To Application.CommandBars.Count
    If InStr(UCase(Application.CommandBars(i).Name), "PDFMAKER") > 0 Then
    Application.CommandBars(i).Visible = False
    End If
    Next i
    End Sub
    </pre>

    <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16> Klaus

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (RESOLVED)

    The latest version of PDFMaker makes the toolbar reappear every time you swap windows, so I assume that it has its own event handler that uses the WindowChange event to make the toolbar visible again.

    I suspect that your Macro would work with Adobe 6 if you changed the line
    <font face="Georgia">Application.CommandBars(i).Visible = False</font face=georgia>
    to
    <font face="Georgia">Application.CommandBars(i).Enabled = False</font face=georgia>

    StuartR

    Edited by StuartR on 29 Dec to correct a spelling error

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Princeton, New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (2003)

    StuartR,

    I'm running Word 2000, and to get rid of the Adobe toolbar I followed your procedure. Whoops, it didn't work for me! Un-checking PDFMaker in Word>Tools>Templates & Add-ons did _not_ disable the Adobe toolbar on my system. But in following your lead I learned another way to fix the problem that did work for me.

    What I had to do was go to C:Microsoft OfficeOfficeStartup, and in the <Startup> folder rename "PDFMaker.dot" to something else. That finally got rid of the toolbar permanently.

    Oh, yes -- Before I did the above, I copied the two Adobe icons to one of my regular Word toolbars where they work just fine, without that intrusive Adobe toolbar.

    Mucklucks

  11. #11
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (2003)

    Revisiting this thread, after a long pause, because someone posted a pointer to it.

    You said that my method didn't work for you, so you renamed the PDFMaker.DOT file in the Startup directory.

    My suggested method is that you
    <UL><LI>move PDFMaker.DOT from Word's startup directory to somewhere completely different.
    This stops it from being automatically loaded each time you start Word.
    <LI>then using Tools > Templates and Add-Ins > Add... you can add this template from the location you have moved it to.
    <LI>finally clear the checkbox so that the template is not automatically loaded from its new location[/list]After doing this, you won't normally see the Acrobat toolbars, but if you want to use them you can set the check box in Templates and Add Ins for a few minutes and then clear it again.

    StuartR

  12. #12
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ohio - USA, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    294
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (2003)

    Thanks, I'll be sure to try this because it's driving me nuts to have it pop up and have to manual close it down over and over.

  13. #13
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Gtr London, England
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (2003)

    (Edited by HansV to make URL clickable - see <!help=19>Help 19<!/help>)

    Having been plagued by rogue Acrobat toolbars in all my Office apps I finally found a way of disabling them without a complete uninstall and a custom reinstall of Acrobat. As the man says in the link below ... just go to Add or Remove Programmes and custom uninstall the offending toolbars from there. The piece also explains how to hack the registry if your disk has gone walkabout. Even without them you can still create your PDF by printing to the distiller.

    http://www.slipstick.com/problems/acrobat.htm

  14. #14
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    10,550
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat Toolbars - STOP!!! (2003)

    The trouble with this method is that printing to distiller doesn't handle all the cross references, headings, bookmarks etc. PDFMaker is a real pain when you don't want it, but it does a great job when it's needed.

    StuartR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •