Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    IBM 20Gig HD Fail

    I have my Hard Discs mounted in a Plug-in configuration and unfortunately when I received my computer back from the supplier after the replacement of a faulty Giagbyte Motherboard, I didn't notice that the HD wasn't properly pluged into the mounting

    I inadvertently pushed the HD into the socket when the computer was switched on

    Consequently it seems that I've destroyed the IBM's boot track as it is no longer recogonised @#$%
    Can anyone point me to a URL where I can download a Repair Program to re-establish tIBM HD's boot track or tell me how I can return this dis to good health

    Hoping for help

    Max Rieper
    mrieper@optusnet.com.au

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IBM 20Gig HD Fail

    I hope the drive itself is not damaged. Restoring the boot record depends on the operating system. For Windows 9x, you will need to re-run setup. In Windows 2000/XP, you can boot with the Windows CD and repair the boot sector.

    HTH,
    -Mark

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IBM 20Gig HD Fail

    Mark

    I'm sorry but I'm a neophtye in these matters of recovering HD's and I don't understand what the process is that you suggest

    I booted from my Win XP Pro CD and attempted first to Repair "R" and then to install the Win XP Pro OS but in both cases that error message came with it is "It can't see any HD"

    How do you restore the "Boot" sector of the HD using the Win XP Pro CD ?

    Or is there some other way to recover the damaged "Boot " sector of the IBM HD ?

    Awaiting further help

    Cheers n Tears
    Max
    Mrieper@optusnet.com.au

  4. #4
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IBM 20Gig HD Fail

    Can't repair anything until your Bios recognizes your Hard Drive. Did you look in Bios to see if it shows your Hard Drive? Hope the Drive isn't fried.

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IBM 20Gig HD Fail

    Yes Mate I certainly did @#$%^&

    It ain't recognised by the BIOS or anyone else unfortunately @#$%^&*

    So where do I go there Eh ???

    Cheers n More Tears
    Max
    Mrieper@optusnet.com.au

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IBM 20Gig HD Fail

    Well, Cowboy said it first...I think your drive is <img src=/S/hosed.gif border=0 alt=hosed width=73 height=24>. If the BIOS is not recognizing it then it is now a paperweight, and you need to replace it. But look at the upshot: at least you know what the problem is. <img src=/S/woops.gif border=0 alt=woops width=58 height=36>
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: IBM 20Gig HD Fail

    One thing to check before you give up on the drive. If you're talking about mobile racks like attached, you ought to take the drive OUT and try plugging it directly to IDE temporarily. If you pushed the tray containing the drive into the connector while powered on, it's possible that what you fried is the circuit board in the mobile rack enclosure, and not the drive. I saw it happen to (heh, heh) someone at work a few years ago - not me of course!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IBM 20Gig HD Fail

    <hr>@#$%^&<hr>
    your starting to sound like me.

    One other thing. Have you tried the Auto Detect function in Bios to see if it will find your Hard Drive? You know where you highlight Primary Master and push enter, or thats the way it works in my Bios anyway, some are a little different. Some have you push the F3 key for Auto Detect.

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IBM 20Gig HD Fail

    OK, thanks for your thought but the HD Plug-in cradle I use has no on-board electronics so unfortunatley that idea wasn't the answer

    Thanks a million anyway

    Cheers n Tears
    Max

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    175
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IBM 20Gig HD Fail

    I'm sory to say that I've tried that and it doesn't work #$%^&*

    I'm sure that I've either corrupted the "low Level" boot track or even worse physically damaged either the Heads or the media

    What I need to get is IBM's HD software which will repair/recover the "Low Level" boot tracks

    Any ideas where I can find this ??

    Thanks for your thoughts anyway

    Cheers n Tears
    Max

  11. #11
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IBM 20Gig HD Fail

    Logically speaking, how are you going to repair the low level boot track if the system BIOS will not recognize the drive as being attached? <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20> I think you need to consider it permanently retired.
    -Mark

  12. #12
    Banned Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Newport Richey, Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: IBM 20Gig HD Fail

    I have to agree with Mark. Can't be done if the Bios won't see it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •