Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Booting Problem

  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Booting Problem

    After letting my 11 year old granddaughter play an old DOS game on my wife's computer, it has developed some severe problems. It started out by booting directly to the game, but quitting the game only resulted in it re-booting itself. I discovered that the game had modified my config.sys file and I eliminated the changes. However, it still didn't boot properly.

    I finally was able to get it going by booting in the safe mode and then using msconfig to turn on selective startup and disable Config.sys and Autoexec.Bat. So now it boots, BUT it runs slower than molasses (the disk seems to run for extended periods on boot up and starting up programs). Also, it boots into the lowest screen resolution (640 x 480). When I change the monitor resolution to 800 x 600 it has me reboot, and it reverts to the 640 x 480. I've checked and it has plenty of disk space, the system load is less than 30%, but everything seems to take longer than usual.

    What, if anything, should I have in Config.sys and Autoexec.bat? It's been so long that I've forgotten whether these files are necessary and what goes in them.

    I'm really stumped on this one, as it certainly performed much better before this incident. I don't have a restore point to go back to (my mistake).

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Booting Problem

    Chuck, it's impossible to say what "should be" in your Config.Sys and Autoexec.Bat files since they vary all over the lot. What you could do is, using Notepad or some other text editor, paste a copy of the contents of YOUR two files into a file and save it as SOMETHING.TXT and post it here as an attachment so some of us can take a look to see if you've got any entries that could be causing a problem. In addition, you might want to open the SYSTEM.INI and WIN.INI file with Notepad and look for any entries on the LOAD= or RUN= lines. Those two files will be rather large, so DON'T post them here! Just look for something on the two lines and let us know what you see, for starters.

  3. #3
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Booting Problem

    For Windows 95/98/ME these files typically contain NOTHING of value. They exist primarily for compatibility with DOS applications, and this one game seems to have misbehaved. Sure does make me glad to be past the days of DOS. You should be able to back them up, delete any and all values that exist in them currently, and boot successfully into Windows.

    I would follow this up with Al's suggestion of zipping them and posting them here for perusal, if you are comfortable with that notion. They may have had some other information contained in them for various other reasons, and it would be nice to have them in their stock state. But, regardless of what they contained before, no contents are required for a successful boot into Windows.

    HTH,
    -Mark

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Booting Problem

    I solved the problem by completely eliminating both the Autoexec.bat and Config.sys files (I renamed them with different extensions). Now the system boots normally, the monitor resolution changed properly, and the system seems to be running normally.

    Thanks for all the help and suggestions.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Booting Problem

    Glad you got it worked-around, Chuck. The only little teensy problem could be the possibility that you have a piece of software, legacy or not, that might be depending on some setting, driver or environment variable that was being set at bootup. Just don't throw the files away and my offer to help you take a look at them still stands.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Booting Problem

    OK, Here they are:

    Autoexec.BAT

    @ECHO OFF
    SET TMP=C:WINDOWSTEMP
    SET TEMP=C:WINDOWSTEMP
    SET PROMPT=$p$g
    SET winbootdir=C:WINDOWS
    SET PATH=C:WINDOWS;C:WINDOWSCOMMAND
    SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 T4 P330
    REM
    REM The following lines have been created by Windows. Do not modify them.
    REM
    C:WINDOWSWIN.COM /W

    Config.SYS

    DOS=SINGLE
    DOS=HIGH,UMB
    Device=C:WINDOWSHimem.Sys
    DeviceHigh=C:WINDOWSEMM386.Exe

    As I mentioned before I had deleted two or three lines in Config.sys that started up the old DOS game. However, I still had problems until I got rid of Autoexec and Config entirely. The system seems to be running OK so far. (My wife isn't running so well with it, but she has a continuing love/hate relationship with machines of any type.)

    Thanks for your help.

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Booting Problem

    Chuck, you might consider adding the following line to your AUTOEXEC.BAT for your sound card:
    <pre>SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 T4 P330</pre>

    The rest of the lines in both files are redundant, and even this one, if you do not make use of DOS based programs or games that run from within Windows. All 32-bit programs will take this information from the operating system itself if needed. If you do use DOS based programs, however, you can free up more memory for them by modifying the CONFIG.SYS as follows:
    <pre>DOS=HIGH,UMB
    Device=C:WINDOWSHIMEM.SYS
    DeviceHigh=C:WINDOWSEMM386.EXE</pre>

    These lines, again, will have no effect on standard Windows applications, as you saw when you renamed the files' extensions.

    Were it me....I'd leave well enough alone! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>
    -Mark

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Booting Problem

    Thanks Mark,

    I think I'll leave it alone for now. It's working OK for what my wife does.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •