Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Run Time Error (IE 6)

    Now and then I get a popup "Runtime Error" with a message such as "Line: 756 Error: Library not registered" Of course, IE help has no entry for Library or Register. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    Not your problem, the web master has a problem in his/her web page code.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    In that case there sure are a lot of Webmasters out there with problems.

    I wonder if IE Security settings have anything to do with it -- perhaps by not accepting Java scripts or something like that?

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    Give us a link to the address that is giving you this error. We can then go up and see if wee get the same error.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    Security settings only pop up dialogs if you set to "prompt," or sometimes if you say "no" to a prompt. If you have something Enabled or Disabled, you shouldn't see those messages. More likely related to the infamous "Display a notification about every script error" option (you can search here for LOTS more info).

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    The sites must have something in common that your browser is having trouble interpreting properly. I suspect it is some form of scripting, as Jefferson suggested. Do these sites use Flash, Java, or other page add-ins that you are aware of?
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    Chuck--

    As Jefferson referenced, I don't think the way you set your Active X or JAVA at Options is going to influence your seeing these messages that the web page designer/developer would have to be the one to correct, but you can minimize your chances of seeing these anoying messages you can't do much about by configuring your boxes on the Advanced tab of Options this way:

    SMBP
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    Wouldn't you know that now no matter where I try I cannot find a site that pops up one of these messages!

    If I ever find another I'll try to save the URL and forward it.

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Wardrobe Malfunction Junction, Derry
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    Chuck--

    If you look in your History and can remember a day when you got one, you may be able to jog your memory to find one. I thought about Event Viewer but it probably surely wouldn't log that info.

    SMBP

  10. #10
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    I've run through most of my History file for the last 7 days, and no luck. I'll just keep looking.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    Chuck, enjoy your error free status. No rush to get more errors! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    Ok, I finally ran on to another one when I'm at this URL

    http://www.lastcalleurope.org/index.php?op...nc=detail&id=15

    and I click on the Slide Show "Start" link just above the picture. I get the attached error.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    <P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by jscher2000 on 02-Jan-04 20:53. See note)</P>If you don't want to see these, check the "Disable Script Debugging" checkbox on the Advanced tab of the Internet Options dialog. Or, to say it not backwards,

    Tools>Internet Options>Advanced>(Browing category)> [X] Disable Script Debugging

    Added: The slide show seems to use some ActiveX control. The message may indicate that you don't have the control installed. I don't even know what control it is, but I suspect it's the one that fades from one picture to the next.

  14. #14
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Escondido, California, USA
    Posts
    1,458
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Run Time Error (IE 6)

    Thanks, I disabled it, and it looks like the problem has gone away.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •