Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22
  1. #1
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    Through searching (yeah, I am glad it is back!! <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>), I have discovered the tabs that can be used with this browser, which I really like, and some other info that has been helpful but I am at a loss about installing plugins. I have gone to the website and read what info I thought would help but I am just not "getting it". The current request by Mozilla is an installation of Flash. I have this for IE so I know it is on this computer but apparently Mozilla can't find it. And when I click on the link that I think is the download for flash for Mozilla, nothing happens. I usually end up directed to a new page. I also need something for the sounds that should be automatically played when web pages with sound are accessed. So I guess I am wondering if there is someway to tap into the plugins that I already have on my computer for Internet Explorer? Or where can I read and understand what I need to do to get plugins for Mozilla so they work?( AND I just realized that I miss the use of "iespell" for checking out my terrible spelling/typing. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20> I feel a little bit on the "duh side" about this subject so I apologize in advance for my crazy questions and will appreciate any help that is offered! <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    Hi There, fellow-Moz User! Even though I've been a faithful Moz user ever since when, I say up front that I'm far from being an expert on the technical workings of these things. In times when I've had occasion to un-install and re-install Mozilla, the Flash Player is one of the plugins that I've had to re-install. That hasn't been a problem, since I have the Player downloaded and sitting in my software directory. I just run the Player installation program and install it AGAIN, on top of itself and that has seemed to fix my browser's knowledge that it's there.

    Are these two links where you went for guidance? Let us know how you're making out.....

    http://plugindoc.mozdev.org/
    http://plugindoc.mozdev.org/windows.html

  3. #3
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    You are not the first!! For Flash, what you're probably looking for is a registry entry - which is explained on link 1. A general explanation of plug-ins is on the same site at link 2.
    Gre

  4. #4
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    Thanks Big Al and Unkamunka - I have Flash working!! <img src=/S/bananas.gif border=0 alt=bananas width=33 height=35> Lot's more experimenting and reading to do. Not sure why I want to do this to myself but exploring new applications can be fun. Remind me of that later when I start getting frustrated <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15>!

    One question before I go about my day, things that can be applied to Mozilla Firebird can also be used on Mozilla? They are two different applications but the the Firebird Browser is incorporated to the Mozilla package that I have downloaded?

    I am beginning to wonder if I should un-complicate my life by just starting over now before getting in too deep and going to the Firebird application. I use outlook for mail and not often but when I want to use a newsgroup tool, I go to outlook express so I wouldn't need the full install of Moz really. Thanks for helping a newbie Moz user with my questions. <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  5. #5
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    To all intents and purposes, Firebird IS Mozilla. From the browser angle, the interface is exactly the same.

    The newsgroups component is incorporated into Thunderbird - the mail client - which can be set up to handle newsgroups only. Chat and HTML editing are parts of still other components.

    You're always welcome to ask questions - about Mozilla particularly. FWIW, if you have the patience to work through all its options, the "Tabbrowser Extensions" extension is really worth having.
    Gre

  6. #6
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    I will heartily SECOND obtaining and twiddling with the TabBrowser extension. It has a few quirks and the options may seem a little arcane, but it should be a standard part of the browser, IMHO. You will never surf the Internet the same way again.
    -Mark

  7. #7
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    If I am even using 1/2 of what the tabs can do, what I have experienced so far is GREAT! I find that I like to save a group of them under a specific name when I am working on a question(problem) and then I can go back to my 'place' and start from that point and work on! That is terrific!!

    Two things that I haven't gotten to work yet and maybe someone will give me a not too detailed step by step on how to get the midi's to play? I know a few pages that I have that should have the sound start as the page loads but I don't get anything! What do I need to do?

    The other thing I really miss is my "iespell" that I have loaded for Internet Explorer. Is there a way to incorporate it within Mozilla? Or are there any other ways to have a spell check? Right now, when I answer or write a post while using Mozella, I copy it and then paste it into MS Word for its spell checking ability. Rather cumbersome but it works. So if there is an easier solution for this, please let me in on it? <img src=/S/please.gif border=0 alt=please width=31 height=23>

    I know I have only begun to scratch the surface of what all this application can do, but <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>l, I am rapidly "falling in love" with Moz!!! <img src=/S/heart.gif border=0 alt=heart width=15 height=15> TIA!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    On MIDI files, it sounds like you're missing a plug-in. You may wish to check which is your default player for MIDI files - QuickTime, RealPlayer or WindowsMediaPlayer - and then rerun the install routine to make sure that Mozilla is aware that that is what you use. First, however, look under Tools|Options|Downloads and make sure that MIDI files arre set to "open with.....".

    The spellchecking options, as far as I can see, are all incorporated in the Mozilla Mail Client. To the bottom left of the Lounge Posting Box, however, there is a Check Spelling button - which you could try out.

    HTH
    Gre

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    I seem to be going in circles with trying to put in the right settings, plugins, etc. <img src=/S/confused.gif border=0 alt=confused width=15 height=20> I click on the help for how to do this, and I end up not being able to figure out what to do! Talk about having a brick wall for a brain! Mozilla has never "asked" for a plugin for the midi's while I am viewing a web page that contains some so I haven't installed anything through Mozilla. I have Windows Media player and tried "associating" it through the preferences but that didn't seem to work either. So then I downloaded and installed Winamp, rebooted set the preferences (attached pic) and still the music doesn't start automatically. So I am Mozilla clueless as to what I am not doing correctly! I guess I am used to being "spoon fed" by IE and really not "smart" enough to use Moz to its full potential! But I am also bull headed enough to want to keep on trying! So any help with this particular problem, in terms that I can understand, would be really helpful! <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15>

    ps: Thanks for reminding me that there is a spell check to use when creating a post! At least it shows me what may be wrong........but <img src=/S/sad.gif border=0 alt=sad width=15 height=15> then I have to remember how to spell the words correctly! I have gotten really lazy by using the "auto-correcting" spell apps!


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  10. #10
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    Ya wanna try something? It's not in my Helper Apps either, but it IS covered by plugins. I don't for the life of me remember how I chose to allow WHICH applications to be associated with what, but on my Mozilla, QuickTime is listed in the plugins screen as being associated with MID files. And that doesn't have anything to do with your file associations in Windows. It's a Mozilla thing, strictly for opening files IN Mozilla. Click on Help, About Plugins and scroll through whatever you've got so far, looking in the Suffixes box to see if you find MID anywhere. If NOT, then you probably need to install QuickTime (as I did) or some other application. Let us know.....
    Attached Images Attached Images

  11. #11
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    Try typing

    aboutlugins

    in your browser address bar. This should bring up details of all the operating plug-ins. If you installed Mozilla after Windows Media Player, it will not have been able to install its plug-in. There does not seem to be support by Winamp for Mozilla. The music plug-in details are all here. You could either reinstall WMA - or try QuickTime or RealPlayer. HTH
    Gre

  12. #12
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    Hi: Just to let you know where I am in this experimentation process! I had to "roll back" XP because of another problem I was twiddling with and found that it messed up all my hard work with Mozilla. So I got aggravated ( <img src=/S/yep.gif border=0 alt=yep width=15 height=15> me!!) and just deleted all of the Moz stuff and I am starting over! I believe this time I will go with the "Thunderbird version".

    I have Flash downloaded as an executable but is there anyplace where I could get Quicktime to download as an executable? They let you download the Installer but the body of the program seems to want to be installed while connected to the net. Any way around that?

    Also, before I get started on this project, again, are there any suggestions to make this a bit more uncomplicated? I saw something about keeping the default profile somehow - and can there be a way to keep the plugins without having to re-download them too? (no, I haven't emptied my trash bin yet! Tuesday is trash day! <img src=/S/rofl.gif border=0 alt=rofl width=15 height=15> Lots of questions - If I ask too many, just tell me to 'put a cork in it'!! <img src=/S/laugh.gif border=0 alt=laugh width=15 height=15>
    But thank you for any guidance you might offer <img src=/S/grin.gif border=0 alt=grin width=15 height=15>


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

  13. #13
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    I think if you go here: QuickTime StandAlone and download the "standalone" player, you will get the full file. You can tell because the file size of the full-banana is about 12 meg, versus the installer at about 560K. I always keep plugin installers like Quicktime, Flash, RealOne and so on, on hand so that if I have to re-install I'll already have the ones I need. I'm not sure of this, but I think if you have to re-install and DON'T erase the plugin directory, Mozilla will already "know" about the plugins you have installed. I guess because I'm a belt-and-suspenders kinda guy, I always re-install plugins when I do a clean install of Mozilla. I believe Firebird should work the same way, but I'm sure Unkamunka will chime in here.

    And, you're not (ever) asking too many questions! That's what we're here for! Good luck.....

  14. #14
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    Some plug-ins can be migrated by backing up your binplugins directory and then copying it into the new installation's mozillafirebirdplugins. I don't recollect ever managing to persuade Apple QuickTime to play along with this strategy, but you could have luck. As you haev already set up the registry entry thast was mentioned earlier in the post, this will save you time.

    On migrating profiles, you will have to reinstall most the extensions that you had on Mozilla 1.5. If you aer feeling adventurous, however, we can look at migrating most of your preferences from the prefs.js file. You will definitely want to back up the file first. Post back if you siwh, and we can go into that further.

    HTH
    Gre

  15. #15
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    1,424
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Mozilla plug-in question (Mozilla 1.5)

    <img src=/S/thankyou.gif border=0 alt=thankyou width=40 height=15> for all of the help!! Here


    "Peace begins with a smile. "-- Mother Teresa

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •