Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    No menu or toolbars (6)

    When you click on a link to some web sites or in a pop-up, a new window opens up with no menu, toolbar or address bar. There doesn't seem to be a documented shortcut key to show these. Does anyone know how to make them visible?

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No menu or toolbars (6)

    The code that delivers such windows can be written to specifically exclude the toolbars etc. So, if you don't see them, they almost certainly aren't there to be made visible.
    Gre

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No menu or toolbars (6)

    I don't understand what you mean. The menus and toolbars are put there by Internet Explorer, not the html code in the page being viewed. The page may contain code to hide them, but IE can still display them. The shortcut keys that are defined (Ctrl+P or F5, for example) still work so IE should be able to show the others.

  4. #4
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No menu or toolbars (6)

    We are talking of a Popup Control which can be called by code. It is not the same as the entire Internet Explorer application. The writer of the code has the choice of how to configure the window: size, position and whether to enable various properties including: resizability, vertical/horizontal scrollbars, toolbars etc. It looks the same as your choosing File|New Window in IE but it is not.

    Presumably someone could configure an Add-In to IE that could take most of the input to your popup window and produce a version that always has menu bars etc. It (or you) would have to delete the "original" popup window as it replaced it. That is the only way that it could be done. AFAIK no one has done that yet.

    HTH
    Gre

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: No menu or toolbars (6)

    If you search for the JavaScript method window.open and review its parameters, you will see that it is trivial to strip pretty much everything but the title bar off a popup window. To get the document in a window that you control, press Ctrl+N while viewing the document. (I think I got that tip right here in the Lounge.)

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    San Jose, California, USA
    Posts
    290
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: No menu or toolbars (6)

    Yikes! That did it. That's exactly what I wanted. Thank you. <img src=/S/cheers.gif border=0 alt=cheers width=30 height=16>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •