Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Flat Panel Monitor Help

    <!help=01>Help 01<!/help>
    I got a new monitor for Christmas...an LCD flat panel. I downloaded new drivers from the website and installed them although after installing the monitor, Windows detected it and installed some files of it's own.

    Anyway, the view of the screen looks like it bows inward...kind of like if you held a piece of paper in your hand and slightly rolled it with the sides toward each other. Plus the top half of the screen is much darker than the bottom. The bottom is very crisp and clear while the words on top of the screen look like they have too much ink and are "globby", if that's a word! Even the colors are different from top to bottom. It is supposed to be a shade of purple, which the bottom looks fine, but the top looks blue and a dark blue at that.

    Is this a defect or some setting I have to change? I tried the OSD and the auto-set feature. There is no OSD option to pull the edges of the screen to take out the bend in the middle like on my other monitor...this one only has the regular old horizontal and verticals which don't help. The website didn't have too much help other than drivers. Their troubleshooting section just said to adjust the brightness and contrast, but my problem is only on half of the screen. If I get the top to be clear, the bottom is too bright.

    Any thoughts????

  2. #2
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    It sounds to me like you need to take your flat panel back to the store and ask them to exchange it. What make is it?
    Gre

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    It's a Mag..which I think is Magnavox and it was bought at Best Buy. Please don't tell me that...all that styrofoam is now in the trash! What a PITA!!!!!! <img src=/S/bummer.gif border=0 alt=bummer width=15 height=15>

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    There should be no distortion on an LCD screen - the pixels are in a fixed position unlike a CRT monitor that 'projects' the image and is subject to external interference, age, etc.

    What resolution are you running at, and is the monitor designed to accept that?
    What refresh rate are you set at?
    Are you using an analogue or digital connection?
    What operating system are you running?

    Right-click on Desktop > Settings...
    Does it recognise the display?

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    OK...I will try and answer as best I can. Although I am somewhat computer savvy, some of your questions are foreign to me! So if you can explain where I can find out the ones I don't know, that would help...

    Resolution is 640x480 I know nobody uses that anymore, but I have used it for years and can't seem to get used to the smaller icons and things on a higher resolution. (But I did read in Woody's XP Tips book how to adjust many of those setting so I may give it a try.)

    Refresh rate...I know I've heard of it and saw it, but tell me where to find it!

    Analogue or Digital? Again...tell me where to find that.

    Operating system...this one I know! Windows 98 (but I am still waiting over 4 weeks now for my Alienware system to be built...that will have XP. But they are in no hurry to get my computer out to me so it will be a while!)

    As for the setting, yes it does recognize the monitor. I downloaded drivers from the manufacturer's website and installed them. Yes, I downloaded the correct one...they all were downloaded and I had to choose my model. Didn't make a bit of difference. But my model number does show up in the display properties.

    Also once the monitor was installed, Windows "detected" (don't know if that's a good thing or not!) the new hardware and installed the P&P.

    Thanks for your help! I am getting many different answers from different people. Some say it's just a "cheap" model with inconsistencies, others say it's a defect and I have to take it back, while others say it's in my settings. At this point, I am willing to try anything before bringing it back.

    Oh, I also have a cordless phone above the monitor and was told that it could be a magnetic thing. So I moved the phone and rebooted....didn't make a bit of difference.

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    OK ...

    Resolution: Shouldn't be a problem but may be worth switching to a different one to see if it makes any difference.

    Refresh rate: I can't remember where it is in '98. Somewhere deep in your screen settings should (hopefully) be a screen showing something similar to that below. Make sure you select to show only rates the monitor will accept.

    Analogue/Digital: I'd say it will be analogue if you don't know - it should be using the same connector as your previous screen.

    Other than that, I'd suggest your best bet would be to try the monitor in another system. I've successfully plugged a flat monitor into XP with it being instantly recognised and used with zero fuss. Any chance you could take it round to a neighbour, or even back to the store for testing?

    --------------
    Edited to add:
    The 'phone should not have an effect - the magnetic interference is only likely to affect CRT monitors as it deflects the beam.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: gif x.gif (4.8 KB, 0 views)

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    Thanks for your help...I really do appreciate your thoughts!

    The refresh rate...found it under the advanced settings of the Display Properties. My graphics card is on the titel bar of that window. But how do I find out what the optimal refresh rate is? The manual has nothing like that in there. My refresh rate was set to "Adapter Default" but I have choices of "Optimal" "60, 72, 75, and 85 Hz". Which is best?

    Analogue/Digital...my son hooked it up (he has now taken over as the computer guru!) and he used the same hookups as what was on the infamous "diagram" in the manual. But everything was the same as my previous monitor.

    You're right...it may work better with XP which as I said I would love to try if only ALIENWARE would build my !@&$^@#& system! I have been in "Phase 8" for 10 days! (Sorry...have to get my digs in..they are just terrible!)

    Not that I live in the boonies or anything, but it would be easier to just take it back to the store rather than hooking it up to another computer. But I hate to see a good monitor be returned when it was just a setting or compatibility that hopefully will be fixed sometime soon when I get my new system.

    I will try a different resolution and see what happens...and give an update if it helped.

    Thanks again!

  8. #8
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Vienna, Wien, Austria
    Posts
    5,009
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    I very much hope that you don't have to take the machine back. Like <!profile=Leif>Leif<!/profile>, the LCD monitor I plugged into WinXP installed no questions asked. The only time I've ever seen anything like the symptoms you describe with an LCD display is when there has been something physically wrong with the Liquid Crystal. Is there any chance you could call up Best Buy and ask someone there if they've ever seen anything like it? (Pardon me, if that is an impossible suggestion!)
    Gre

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    If you have a manual for the monitor look in it to find the default resolution and refresh rate. Many LCD monitors do not react well if changed from the default. If you can't set the resolution or refresh rate properly then you've got a video card problem. Seconding others, call Best Buy and ask if they know anything. Also, check the manufacturer's site. BTW, I pretty sure Mag is MAG Innovision .

    Joe
    Joe

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    Again, I just want to say THANKS! All your suggestions are helping...
    And I guess I was wrong about the name. It does say Mag Innovision but I still assumed it meant Magnavox. I previously downloaded the drivers from the site you listed. At least I had that part right!

    Now, the resoulution...there isn't much info in the manual. Besides a few pages of text on the setup (along with those "easy to understand pictures"), there isn't much else as far as info. There is one page titled "Preset Modes Timing Chart" with a table of Hz numbers and resolutions. For example, the column "Resolution" has 640x480 (the resolution I use), then the column "Horizontal" with 31.47KHz, then the "Vertical" with 70Hz. Does that mean the refresh rate should be set to 70 using 640? There are two other rows both with 640x480 under the "Resolution" but the "Horizontal" is 37.86KHz and 37.5KHz, with the "Vertical" being 72.8Hz and 75Hz, respectively. So which do I use if this is where I find the default resolution and refresh rate.

    As far as the video card, I do have updated drivers for it which is an STB Velocity 4400. That comes up with its own tabs and properties under settings. Everything seems to be fine there, for all I know! But I understand that this comp is a dinosaur. What should I look for there as far as incompatibility or settings to help?

    Thanks for your suggestion on the manufacturer's site, but I already went there and their troubleshooting section left lots to be desired. It just said to adjust the contrast and brightness which doesn't help in this situation since it is only half the screen that needs adjusting.

    As an update, I changed the refresh rate to 60. It was set at "Adapter Default" before the change. This did seem to help somewhat with the "globby" words on the title bar at the top of the screen, but it is still not "perfect" and it had no effect on the darker color at the top half.

    So, again, I appreciate all the help. I feel I am getting much more help here than what I would get at the store. Plus I want to learn how to control these settings and use them to my advantage in the future, if you all don't mind! <img src=/S/stupidme.gif border=0 alt=stupidme width=30 height=30>

  11. #11
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,580
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    Can you try the monitor on another PC? If it still has problems, you should try to exchange it. As fas as a refresh rate goes, it is hit and miss. Try a lower refresh rate it a higher one is causing problems. Usually an LCD monitor has a specific resolution and refresh rate that it is designed for. Changing those can cause display problems. But, because it is a PC (Personal being the operative word) use whatever settings seem best for you.

    Joe
    Joe

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    My feeling is that before you take the display back as a problem child, I would change the resolution to something higher than 640x480 to see if that clears up or helps the problem. It won't cost you anything to set if for 800x600 and then try 1024x768 just to see if the same problem persists.

  13. #13
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    You definitelyneed to check some settings. Set the refresh rate at 75MHz or greater.
    Next EVERY LCD has a recommended resolution and variance from that WILL cause problems.
    If it is 1024x768 then set it at that. The manual should also give you the refresh rate.
    The final thing is to update the Video card drivers to the most recent one.

  14. #14
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    28
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    Just wanted to update...FINALLY got my new computer and now the monitor is fine running with XP. It must have been an issue with something in 98 or my old dinosaur. Just wanted to say thanks for everyone's ideas's...

    Could have used everyone over the weekend...funny how no one ever tells you that NOTHING is XP compatible! But I am proud of myself...I figured out how to stop this new baby from crashing every 5 minutes and I was the one who told tech support (I know...they are idiots...doesn't say much for me!) what the problems were. I had a crash course in XP, literally, and learned plenty in the past 3 days!

    So the monitor mystery is solved...at least for the moment. Thanks again. I'll probably be back with XP questions!

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    885
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Flat Panel Monitor Help

    Congratulations!! and thanks for the update.
    Granville

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •