Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    84,353
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

    Re: Error Message - Cannot update fied (97 - 2000)

    If you open your query by itself, you'll probably find that you can't edit it either.

    You will have to do this in a form with a subform. Depending on your preference, you can create a form displaying contacts, with the visits of that contact in a subform, or a form displaying visits, with the contacts associated with that visit in a subform. Of course, you can create both if you like.

  2. #2
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stroud, United Kingdom
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error Message - Cannot update fied (97 - 2000)

    I have got the form with the subform done, but it will not allow me to add new records to the visits of a contact. That when i get the error message.

    Do i need to base the form on the tables?
    Thanks,

    pmatz

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Schenectady, New York, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error Message - Cannot update fied (97 - 2000)

    It sounds like your query is not updateable. you would need to create a form that contains the contract table and the HISTID from the third table. A sub form then would be used for the History table as its source with the parent child links of the HISTID.
    Don
    <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/NewYork.gif border=0 alt=NewYork width=30 height=18> "Life on Earth is expensive, but at least it includes a free trip around the Sun."

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stroud, United Kingdom
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error Message - Cannot update fied (97 - 2000)

    Here is a mock up of the structure i am using. i am not sure what you mean about the query no being updateable, as i can type in records in the query...
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Thanks,

    pmatz

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Schenectady, New York, USA
    Posts
    273
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error Message - Cannot update fied (97 - 2000)

    What is happening here is you have no entry in you're in between table and a new record is being updated. I would place the CONTID into the history record and then link the records on the CONTID. The sub form would then populate the history row with the parent child link value.

    You need to create a record in table 2 before you can add a new record that will be associated with the Contract table.
    Don
    <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18> <img src=/S/flags/NewYork.gif border=0 alt=NewYork width=30 height=18> "Life on Earth is expensive, but at least it includes a free trip around the Sun."

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stroud, United Kingdom
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Error Message - Cannot update field (97 - 2000)

    Hi, I have the following basic setup:

    3 tables , 1 holds contact info, has Primary key CONTID; 1 holds History of visits, has primary key HISTID; 1 links the two, holding both Primary as foriegn keys.

    i created a relationships between these tables, and made a query to draw them together.

    I want to make a form, to enter data for the History of contacts, that i can add to, which i have done useing the form wizard. the problem i am getting is that when i try to add data to the subform i get the error:

    Field can't be updated.

    I cant figure this out...
    Thanks,

    pmatz

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Stroud, United Kingdom
    Posts
    548
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Error Message - Cannot update fied (97 - 2000)

    Ah, i think i see. I think i was trying to over Normalize!! Yes, i just put the contID in the Hist table.

    Thanks... its a long day!
    Thanks,

    pmatz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •