Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Network Startup

  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Network Startup

    I recently installed a home sytem for 2 Dell Computers, 1 desktop and 1 laptop. The network stuff is 11b from netgear and I use a Linksys cable modem connected to the netgear MR814 v2. The system will eventually work correctly but every time I repower my system the modem will not allow me to connect to the web. I have tried powering everything else and waiting a minute or so before turning on the modem, NG. However if I again turn the modem off and back on everything is OK.

    Is there something I can do to eliminate this annoyance? Thus far the Netgear tech support doesn't even seem to understand my question.
    Win 8, Firefox 16.0.2, Thunderbird 15.0.2

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts

    Re: Network Startup

    When your computer is connected, do you have a private address such as 10.10.... or 192.168....? Do you get the same kind of address when your computer is unable to connect? Just wondering if there's a DHCP problem between the cable modem, wireless router, and wireless NIC.

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Startup

    The mystery continues, this morning turning off and repowering the cable modem did not help, but rebooting the computer did.

    Not exactly where I should check the IP address, but on the network icon on the taskbar it says Address assigned by DHCP and it was 192.168... From Control Panel > Network Connections >Local Area Network >Properties the TCP/IP says that the IP address is assigned by DHCP and that DHCP was enabled.

    I wonder if the problem might be caused when the laptop is not turned on?
    Win 8, Firefox 16.0.2, Thunderbird 15.0.2

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Nixa, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Startup

    When ever you reboot the modem you must follow this order.
    Turn off PC's
    Turn off Switches
    Turn off Access Points (wireless)
    Turn off modem
    Wait (30 to 60 seconds)
    Turn on Modem
    Wait 1 to 2 minutes
    Turn on first device connected to modem (Switch/Hub/Access point)
    Turn on 2nd device connected to the above (Access point/Switch/Hub)
    After all Switches, Access Points and Hubs are on then
    Turn on each PC

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Startup

    Thanks for your response!

    What I was really hoping for is some way to avoid having to go thru that process.
    Do you know why I can't startup with all networks functioning?
    Win 8, Firefox 16.0.2, Thunderbird 15.0.2

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Lexington, Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    12,107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Network Startup

    Implied in the posts above is the fact that when you power down, you turn off ALL equipment. When I have occasion to power off one (or all) computers on my home LAN, I don't turn off my Linksys router/switch or the DSL modem. Would you care to see what happens to your connectivity if you try that? Otherwise, I'm pretty sure Kent is right - at least it has been in the case of my equipment. Knocking wood of course, I should say that I've had my DSL modem in service for about 4 or 5 years and the router for 2 or 3 and both have been powered on for most of that time. So far, so good...

  7. #7
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Startup

    Yes, you are correct, normally I power down all equipment.
    Your approach was one that I was considering, I will try it and let you know.

    Earier this morning I found that if I wait about 15 seconds before powering the modem it will function properly.
    Win 8, Firefox 16.0.2, Thunderbird 15.0.2

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Rebel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    3,024
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: Network Startup

    Al's suggestion is the solution to your problem. If you feel the need to power everything off, then Kent's approach is correct. However, if you want "instant networking" or "instant web connections" when you power on the PC, then leave the modem and the router powered on 24/7. Both of them draw minimal amounts of power and you will be able to surf or connect to your other computer as soon as Windows is loaded.
    John
    A Child's Mind, Once Stretched by Imagination...
    Never Regains Its Original Dimensions

  9. #9
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    East Tennessee
    Posts
    179
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Startup

    Thanks Everybody for your Input!

    I will change my Modem to always powered to accomplish what I wanted to do.

    Just did not realize that this was the "Normal" way that the network must work. I thought that I might have missed something somewhere. Never saw that info in my studies to get things running smoothly.

    Again emphasizes for me the value of these WOPR forums!
    Win 8, Firefox 16.0.2, Thunderbird 15.0.2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •