Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Folsom, California, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Adobe Acrobat 6.0.1

    Tried twice installing new Adobe version 6.0.1 first time over version 6.0,didn't work so I unistalled everything and reinstalled version 6.0.1 and it still doesn't work.Error in Acord32 it says.I also notice my adobe folder is still in " Program Files" folder with files in them even after unistall when I use Windows explorer to find and view the folder.
    Can I "Delete" the entire "Adobe" folder in"Program Files" without screwing anything up?
    Also,Adobe version 6.0 worked fine.During install of version 6.0.1 the install asked to make a change to my Office 2000 Sr-1 installation and I clicked yes, and install went ahead and finished it's install.
    Do I or can I go back to version 6.0?
    Completely lost,any help would sure be appreciated,

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    7,089
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 6.0.1

    <hr>Can I "Delete" the entire "Adobe" folder in"Program Files" without screwing anything up? <hr>
    Yes, as long as you do not have Photoshop or some other Adobe application using shared files at that location. Chances are you do not. But check anyway.

    Delete all of your temporary files also, before installing again. Click on Start - Run and enter %temp%. Click OK. Press CTRL+A to select all of the files in the folder, and then delete them (DEL key or right click and delete). Some may be in use, so if you need to de-select them, hold the CTRL key and click on the file that is in use, and try to delete again until you have the folder almost completely empty.

    Can you go back to 6.0? I would think so, if you remove the previous install. If there is no specific reason for you to be running the latest and greatest version, try it. I personally stick with Acrobat Reader 5 because I think it's much faster.
    -Mark

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Folsom, California, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 6.0.1

    Thanks Mark, appreciate the input.Have cleaned out the folders on C/ drive /Adobe, am not running any other Adobe software, downloaded adobe reader 5.1 and it works great.( I hope I did'nt screw up the registry because my Cd-Rom drive has quit working,it was a used cd-rom and may have just gone out on it's own but I'm curious about the timing)?
    It's strange though, before all this happened I had 6.0 and it ran great.For your info and others, there is no more 6.0! Checked with Adobe and 6.0 is not available as a down load any more! Just 6.0.1.
    I really resent these software companies telling you there is an "Update" available,you download it and it screws up your machine!
    On this same point while going thru all this,after using Add/Remove and dumping 6.0.1 and 6.0 ,I couldn't go back to the day before I downloaded 6.0.1and restore at that point.Restore says I cannot restore to this point!So tell me if you know,I assume if you remove a program existing on your computer,remove it, then try and go back to when you had it,"Restore" won't restore.
    Would like to understand more about this.
    Thanks for your help Mark,Respectfully

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 6.0.1

    Hi Jim,

    You are correct in thinking that Restore will not restore a program you have previously uninstalled from your system. Restore will only restore Windows system files. If you want something that will restore your system to EXACTLY the way it was at a previous time there are really only two options. Imaging software, like PowerQuest's Drive Image & Norton Ghost or GoBack (I think Symantec owns it now).

    With Imaging software you create an image on CD's or some other external medium from which you can restore it in case of trouble. GoBack, on the other hand, keeps a real-time image of your system on your hard drive and gives you the option to restore to almost any time in the recent past. Sometimes as long ago as a week or more depending on your computer use and how much space you set aside for GoBack to use. The drawbacks to GoBack are that it is a resource hog and I have read here in the lounge that it rewrites the master boot record to perform it's magic and this sometimes causes problems itself. Also, since GoBack is on the same hard drive as your system it is not a substitute for a backup to an external source. If your drive fails, so does GoBack.

    There's some food for thought. It should at least give you a direction if you choose to pursue some form of third-party system restore.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Folsom, California, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 6.0.1

    Thanks Doc for the input,however I don't expect Restore to put my removed program back on the c/ drive but I do expect it to Restore the Windows O/S, which it would not do!
    I have a Sony "Superstation" 10 Gig backup tape in my CPU,and had just done a full b/u two days before this happened including the Registry!
    Adobe Reader 5.1 is now installed and running fine,and I did get restore to get me a restore point with a good restore between installing, removing, installing again and removing again Adobe 6.0.1.on Jan.12th,(see Attachments).
    I am still not sure why restore would not Restore the Windows O/S back to Jan.11th and thats still what I'm trying to figure out.
    Thanks Doc for the input.Respectfully,
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Folsom, California, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 6.0.1

    Additional attachment.Woodys Lounge only sends attachments 100k or less.So put this togather with what I have already sent Doc and see what you think. Tnx ,
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 6.0.1

    My best guess, and it is a guess, is that the restore point on the 11th is corrupt. I'm not that familiar with the ME operating system, the System Restore utility in particular, but I'm told it has similarities to the System Restore utility in XP. XP's restore points get corrupted all the time for various reasons. So I'd guess that the same is true of those in ME.

    Have you tried to go back to an earlier restore point ?? I noticed you seem to have them back to about the 6th. The 9th appears to be the only date in between that doesn't have any. It is possible that they all have become corrupted, so if as they say, "it ain't broke............." it might not be a bad choice to just let sleeping dogs lie.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Folsom, California, USA
    Posts
    71
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Adobe Acrobat 6.0.1

    Hi Doc,the 9th was the day a did a full tape backup and that takes about 2.5 hours to B/u and 2.5 hours to varify .That's why no restore point that day.
    Yes I think I tried the 10th also and got a "Cannot restore to this point" comment from "System Restore".I don't believe the restore points are Corrupt.I have never had restore no be able to go back and restore sucessfully.I believe it was because I either uninstalled Adobe 6.0.1. or unistalled adobe 6.0 both uninstalled and then tried to restore with no program there.Or installing 6.0.1 corrupted the restore points.
    But like you say,I did get a restore point on the 12th and all seems to be working fine so I think I'll just let the sleeping dogs lie.
    Thanks for the follow up and sure appreciate the help.Respectfully,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •