3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Excel to Access (2k)

I'm considering switching from xl to access for a budget project.
    My current xl form is set up as in the following table.
    Requirements:
    Column 1 &2 are not user-defined (locked)
    All other colums are optional: numbers and text (Exp cats may or may not have numbers or may be blank or out of sequence numerically. There may or may not be sub items)
    All item amounts within Obj Code 30 are totaled for each year (same for 40, 50....)

This is all quite simple in xl but I am new to Access so I need a bit of assistance with structuring this.
    Would it be preferable to have one table for Expenses or separate ones for each obj code and/or Exp Cat?
    What I would like is a cascading Entry form -- enter 30 in box1 and a sub form opens allowing/showing only items 31-39; when 32 is entered in a combo box another subform opens permitting entry of Deisel, Propane, Gasoline etc.

Any suggestions in helping me get started?
    Thanks

<table border=1><tr><td align=right>

Plutonium Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Excel to Access (2k)

If you're new to Access, run to the bookstore and get a copy of Access Database Programming & Design, from O'Reilly. It has a very good section on data normalization, which is what you need to do. I see at least 4 tables in your data: ObjCode, ExpCat, ExpItem, Budget. This assumes that ObjCode and ExpCat are lookup tables that are related. ExpItem is related to ExpCat, and Budget is the table where you store the actual numbers.
    Charlotte

3 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Charlotte
    thanks for the suggestions.
    Can you give me a quickie on data normalization?

Super Moderator
    Thanks