New Lounger

Form Calculated Field and Record Update to a Table (Access 2000)

<P ID="edit" class=small>(Edited by tony510 on 14-Jan-04 07:25. )</P>Hi! I am new to access and need help. I formatted a form with these fields; Customer ID, Customer
    Name, Transaction Date, Billed Amount, Amount Paid, Unpaid Balance. This form is a data entry
    form to update all new records on "Orders Table". I have two issues that I need help for.
    a) Whenever Customer ID is entered, automatically it fills the form combo box for "Customer Name"
    and works perfectly. All the rest of the fields entered above updates the "Orders Table" except two
    fields. Customer Name and the Unpaid Balance. The Customer name on the form is derived from
    a Master Customer Table. Can you show how it is done so that the "Customer Name" is on the
    Orders Table? Do I need to do a record source expression and correct the column count on the
    field properties of the Orders Table? Please show how it is done.

b. On the form under "Unpaid Balance" I created a formula such as; = [Billed Amount]-[Amount Paid]
    and calculates correctly on the form but does not update the "Orders Table" . I know that calculations
    should not be saved but this is a required history calculations so we can track history of open balances.
    Please show me on how to do this.

I appreciate any assistance.

Plutonium Lounger

Re: Form Calculated Field and Record Update to a Table (Access 2000)

a. I don't quite understand your description. I would use a combo box with two columns, corresponding to Customer ID (hidden) and Customer Name. The combo box is bound to the Customer ID field (by setting its Control Source to Customer ID), but displays the Customer Name. You don't need to store the Customer Name in the Orders table if you already have the Customer ID.